Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

God Hunter

by iJohnF - Jam Entry

Hello Ludum Dare community, this is my first official Ludum Dare! I've been making games for a while but finally took the plunge to participate in the adrenaline / food filled weekend. Enjoy!

---------

UPDATE V 0.2: 30 random events were being left out do due the generator, has been fixed!

----------
A super minimalistic rouge-like game where you are a God Hunter journeying into the darkest depths of a mountain to claim glory in felling the evil God that lives there. Filled with hundreds of random story events and monsters!

Controls:
- Click a tile to enter the room.
- Find the stairs on each level and descend deeper into the mountain.
- Clear rooms full of all kinds of monsters and level up

Notes:
- Made in Flash, playable right in your browser on any computer!
- Made over a 48 hour weekend with plenty of pizza, hot cheetos, and diet squirt
- There's a bug where you're sometimes stuck fighting an enemy, refresh the game if this occurs.
- WARNING -- There is plenty of twerking in God Hunter. You have been warned.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#73Humor(Jam)3.59
#137Innovation(Jam)3.56
#150Overall(Jam)3.56
#179Graphics(Jam)3.87
#187Fun(Jam)3.31
#223Mood(Jam)3.39
#246Audio(Jam)3.34
#400Theme(Jam)3.11
#2022Coolness20%

Comments

MintArcade says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:46pm

This is one cool game. Played for a while. Well polished. Shoes eh. :)

PapyGaragos says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:55pm

I don't know if there is a real strategy since you can't tell what will be in each room, but I can see some effort went into the art and the sound. It feels realy polished. Good job!

burgerdare says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:15pm

feels a a bit shy of skill or strategy, but it's kind of fun as a "test your luck" sort of deal.

iJohnF says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:24pm

@MintArcade: Thanks for playing! And yes the shoes, SPD+1 :) haha

iJohnF says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:25pm

@PapyGaragos: Thanks! Yeah definitely didn't have time for actual gameplay / strategy. Looking to expand it in the future possibly!

Garris says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:25pm

It looks really nice. It's easy to pick up and play, it feels a little bit more luck-heavy than I usually prefer, but at the same time it has a bit of a slot machine feel to it that makes you want to try again when you have some bad luck. Overall, a great entry.

iJohnF says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:27pm

@burgerdare: thanks for playing! Yeah it's lacking any strategy atm, looking for ways to see how I can implement that for casual players

local minimum says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:30pm

I agree with the others in that the strategy element is a little too weak. If you added e.g. foods and have hunger as a currency and allow player to rest for hp but become hungry over time then that would be solved without adding anything more than a separate rest button. Maybe also a climb up button if one got ahead of oneself.

Other than the, well polished and nice.

iJohnF says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:48pm

@local: thanks for the helpful feedback, and glad you enjoyed it! Food and hunger is really cool, will take note.

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:29pm

Whoa! Great concept, and the execution is great! I wish there was some way to peak at a room before trying to enter, seemed to me optimal strategy was to just try to uncover everything. If I could somehow make a semi-educated choice about which tile to check, I'd play the crap out of this. Really great work!!!

tomvert says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:33pm

Excellent game. I was blocked by a bug in second floor, i could'nt hit an enemy. Also I found a dead sloth.

soy_yuma says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:31pm

Keeps calling me coward, but I don't want to run from battle. It doesn't let me kill the bastard! It happened twice.

I like the bits that I've seen. The game is simple, but looks polished. I like the sound effects. Good job!

iJohnF says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:34pm

@DarkMeatGames: Thanks for the encouragement and feedback! Taking notes :)

@Tomvert: Currently looking for that bug! As for the dead sloth...you didn't see anything.

@soy_yuma: That's one of the bugs I'm hunting down at the moment. It's game breaking when you're having a good run :( Thanks and Im glad you enjoyed it!

NicoM says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:26am

Nice game:), I liked the audio, and there were some pretty funny descriptions;), good job:)

Katamori says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:33am

Loved it!

JavadocMD says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:39am

Had a lot of fun with this even though there wasn't much strategy (as others noted). The writing was fantastic and really made you want to keep clicking. Hilarious stuff. The art was beautiful as well.

Hit two bugs: one where I clicked a tile, found an enemy, but clicking the tile again wouldn't attack. Clicking anything else told me I was a coward. That hurts, man. I may have been clicking too rapidly when I encountered this one: maybe before the previous tile had fully resolved?

I also played one game where the first floor had no stairs!

Diptoman says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:03am

Feels kind of random, since you have no idea what's next.
But very well polished.

lukepilgrim says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:42pm

could be fun with a bit more strategy elements.

kill0u says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:55pm

Meh. I was doing great, but got the coward bug :(
Nice game anyway, even though it would be nice to see more gameplay/strategy :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:24pm

Great idea but it seemed to to be just luck and no skill involved in playing.

rpgwhitelock says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:05pm

Very well put together. For an update I would like to have more meaningful choices to make. Perhaps if I could see what to click on next I could weight up the risks/trades involved. DesktopDungeons is a good ref.

iJohnF says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:52am

@NicoM @Katamori @Diptoman @lukepilgrim

Thanks everyone! Glad you enjoyed it.

iJohnF says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:53am

@JavadocMD: Really appreciate the feedback! Haha yeah the writing was basically me typing whatever came to my mind at 5am in the morning with no sleep. You can imagine what kind of weird ideas will pop up.

iJohnF says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:56am

@kill0u: thanks! Sorry bout the coward bug, you're definitely not a coward :)

@SecondDimension: Yeah strategy is public enemy #1 at the moment, going to figure out a way to get something in there.

@rpgwhitelock: definitely, a game that I really like is FTL, where every choice is meaningful. Thanks for playing!

asotelo94 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:34am

Great game! found a game breaking bug on level 4 which didn't let me do battle or click on a new room. Had a fun, loved the art style and the sound is fitting.

iJohnF says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:53am

@Asotelo94: Thanks, glad you enjoyed it! Yeah that same bug is affecting lots of people :( still looking into it.

Xaychru04 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:21pm

Cool game, shame there was this bug with enemies.. It was pretty addictive, not very strategic, but anyway, I had fun playing! :)

Cake&Code says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:56pm

This is really neat! There isn't much strategy, as i was just randomly clicking around the rooms and clearing out levels before moving on, but I had a good time playing it anyways. Originally thought it was some sort of puzzle game based on the screenshots, which might have been interesting to add that as some sort of mechanic later to avoid the "randomness" of it? But overall I liked the sound effects, the graphics, and thought it was pretty innovative!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:34pm

Simple yet deep mechanics. Cool game.

wschorn says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:55pm

monster hunter SFX?

Spierek says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 7:45am

It kept triggering that bug where you kill an enemy but can't escape from the room ("Heroes don't run from a fight!"). Other than that, it was alright, though it's all luck and almost no skill.

recursor says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 11:47pm

I encountered what might be a bug when clicked on an enemy and it said I could not run away from battle. Because of that, I couldn't fight him so I had to restart. This is very fun and I hope you keep working on it. Nice job!

joe40001 says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 10:17am

I like it, but sometimes I'd click a red guy and it would say "you can't run from battle" and yeah it's mostly a luck based thing. Looks/sounds nice, decent humor too.

stvr says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 5:39pm

Very enjoyable, simple and fun. The flavor text was always great. That bug though! Made it to level 7 or so and got totally stuck on it.

Striwx says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 2:20pm

Nice Concept ! maybe a little too random.

Anoarith says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 4:47pm

Fun game but I agree for the lack of strategy. The graphics and sound design was really cool :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]