Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

SubFlight 2075

by JTJones853 - Jam Entry

Welcome to SubFlight 2075, a futuristic submarine simulator. Navigate the gauntlet, destroying all 5 turrets along the way. Or, if you are feeling less ambitious, simply fly around the beautiful seascape and explore.

Controls:
- A,D - Roll
- W,S - Pitch
- Q,E - Yaw
- 1,2 - Power
- C - Cavitation mode (go fast)
- H - Toggle terrain HUD overlay
- Space - Fire torpedo

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#179Graphics(Jam)3.87
#1989Coolness22%

Comments

MintArcade says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:43pm

Impressive and have the potential. Some textures clipping through, but it's to be expected. Polish it and you get nice submarine sim.

Larzan says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:55am

Nice design, but i had problems with the controls, isn't there a way to change buoyancy?

Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:00am

Controls can be a bit awkward at times. But it looks nice, and I think this is an idea with a lot of potential :)

dertom says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:28am

Can you please provide an executable, since the webplayer is win/mac only (But don't worry! You are not alone!)

Aomeas says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:54am

Same with the controls, but it's a good immersion :3

HuvaaKoodia says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:39pm

The Theme, mood and audiovisuals are terrific.
I really like how the sound becomes more and more intensive when accelerating.

Gameplay-wise I find the standard first person shooting to be unresponsive and a bit of a bore. I would like to see a submarine game focusing on exploration of sunken ships, ancient ruins or similar.

If you wish to stay on the FPS route, mouse controlled shooting would a a nice feature to have. Something similar to the control system in AquaNox 2, I seem to recall that was pretty fluid.

Overall an impressive early prototype.

Lyje says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:14pm

Homage to Subwar 2050? I love it! Difficult to control though, but I guess that's what being in a real submarine is like :)

JTJones853 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:37pm

Thanks for all the great comments! @MintArcade Yeah, darn billboard textures... I sure wish they wouldn't do that.

JTJones853 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:37pm

@Larzan @zedutchgandalf @Aomeas @HuvaaKoodia @Lyje Yes, the controls definitely seem to be a problem. It is fun to watch the guys at work crash into things, but I suppose it could use some tweaking.

JTJones853 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:40pm

@dertom I am guessing you can run a Windows exe via wine? I'll get windows and mac builds up Monday morning...

JTJones853 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:48pm

If anyone is interested, I plan on developing this game further. It'll be pretty part-time at first... also, I am planning on making it much more focused on exploration and discovery since that seems to be the most fun part of the game (even though there isn't much to discover). Follow me on twitter for updates! jeremy@jtjones853

May 6, 2014 @ 12:05am

Lovely graphics! I second mouse-controlled shooting. Very impressive anyway!

atomic_swerve says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 1:13am

Seems like this was just my experience, but the controls sometimes seemed to take a while to respond. It would be really nice to see some acknowledgement that speed was increasing, etc. I wasn't sure if I had to hold down the button or just press it once.

DonovanWu says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 1:36pm

The control is hard. But I assume it's supposed to simulate the reality?

jujule says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 8:49pm

After a few tries I finaly understood how the controls work (buoyancy depends on speed, so press '2') and I began to really enjoy the game. So I destroy the first 2 turrets and start thinking that the sea bottom is awfully flat and then the rift appears and I'm : woooow!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]