Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

console.enable();

by Knighty - 48 Hour Compo Entry

What lies beneath the surface of a game? Under all the pretty art and etc. are just a bunch of numbers. What if you just ignore the game on top and alter the numbers directly?

You have a powerful Console that can change certain variables of the game objects.
How fast can you run? How much damage does the enemy do to you? Maybe make all the floors non-solid so you just fall to your death? You can do all this, and more!

Figure out how to use this strange ability to conquer the impossible.



<~Controls~>

WASD or Arrow Keys- Move; Change variables in console
Z, X, or W- Jump
Shift or C- Attack
Q- Open/Close console

NOTE: Due to a small oversight, using WASD to control the console is a bit buggy. Use the arrows keys instead.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#9Innovation4.45
#35Theme4.06
#50Overall3.94
#94Fun3.73
#288Graphics3.61
#368Humor2.73
#374Mood3.19
#507Audio2.85
#1989Coolness22%

Comments

fluidvolt says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:39pm

Wow, very interesting take on the theme. Very cool console mechanic, I enjoyed messing around with the different variables. Graphics really reflect the debug-world you're in. Very good work, I'm going to play this some more later!

AsixJin says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:35pm

Very nice game! The console idea was awesome!

petey123567 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:57am

Totally rad; it tickles just the right part of my brain. Hack hack hack!

trvr says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:04am

Great idea! Certainly a unique mechanic, one that I have never seen intentionally implemented as a core gameplay element. Great job!

matt_j says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:08am

I like the artwork.

aneeslol says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:11am

Man, this is just blowing my mind! You did some really great level design to go with the mechanic.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:15am

easily one of the most clever ideas/mechanics i've played so far. Well executed!!!

Shmarah says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:16am

I love this concept and the way the rest of the game is designed fits so well! Wonderful.

illugion says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:47am

This reminds me of the old times of game shark :D i took some time to get the hang of the mechanic but it was really cool when i did! The character looks great!!

ehtd says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:26am

Pretty cool idea to use a console

kyyrma says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:56am

This is a fantastic use of the theme, and a great game to boot. Very nice!

HernanZh says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:57am

Really nice. There's actually an entry with a similar concept, both of these games executed this really well. I love it!

Jonochrome says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:39pm

The layout and design of this is just too perfect. Well done.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:40pm

That heroine is cute! And I like the mechanic. Good work!

Diptoman says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:45pm

Awesome mechanic! Couldn't get past the 4th level :|
But it blew me away! Could form some insanely cool puzzles with this one, which you've obviously done because the way to complete the 3rd level was...just...it made me swear. Really great entry!

PriorBlue says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:18pm

I love the idea, i think i will create such game in the future too.

zkenshin says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:35pm

Really well executed. Was quite a challenge to change the way you think of approaching a problem in a platformer like that, which made beating the levels all the more rewarding. :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:31pm

I like the idea, I've seen it on another game in this competition, but still very cool. Fits the theme cleverly. Nicely polished presentation too.

Jagang says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:26pm

The dream of every player, cheating the world you're in :)

Mase says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:58am

This is great. Very creative level design & mechanics.

ElStevo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:44am

Good variation on the theme ! the code is indeed under the surface !

Crazi456 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:06am

Great puzzles! Very fun, great work!

BenW says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:47am

I thought the puzzle design was really clever. I'd love to see this built out some more with some interface tweeks. Also WASD is really broken with the console interface.

evilseanbot says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:26pm

The concept and execution are totally fantastic.

I thought the part with the spikes and the hearts was a little too demanding.

Overall though, fantastic job.

GrooveMan says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:34am

Messing with the debug is such a great idea, if a lot twitchier than I'd prefer. You're given a whole lot of variables off the bat, but then the experimentation is also fun.

trueyomic says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:34pm

Very well thought out game and puzzles. Took a while to beat, but it was fun.

lekochen says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 1:19pm

Great pixel art, unique gameplay and interesting puzzles. Fantastic!

Teesquared says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 5:53am

Turning everyone into a dev as a game play element works great. Very innovative and fun game. An upgrade should give players a full debugger and the ability to alter source. Feel the power.

mortus says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 6:55am

Great work! Was hard but very fun for me. I've stuck for much too long on the second level, couldn't notice that there's a checkpoint there and had no idea whatsoever on how to beat it. Would love to play more levels and have more changeable variables, but the more you add, the easier it becomes to cheat (real cheats, not intended ones) and complete level not how it was supposed to be completed and much easier too.

May 14, 2014 @ 4:58pm

I've seen at least 2 more games with the same idea in this LD and this was the best implementation among them. But its still not great, specially the controls in console.

The movement of the cursor in the console should be OnKeyDown and not OnKey, because it gets very imprecise.
Also I would have change the whole console interface to something more dynamic, because its boring to open console every time and change variables. Maybe something like the Weapon Wheel in GTA V.

GFM says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 10:15pm

Great entry! I really like your character design, but the others gfxs were kinda lacking...
The main mechanic was really cool and the levels were well made.

I really liked this... but for this exactly reason, I'll have to be more critical on the comment. I hope not to annoy you. :)

Although I liked the console idea, I wanted two things in this game related with the main mechanic: more variables/game objects (e.g., hitbox width/height) and a better console. Seems like (from gameplay) you tied the input with the gameloop... using flash event handling is way better, and not all that difficult (even if using a framework, like Flixel, in my case). Instead of modifying the index/value with a "isKeyDown()" from the framework, you could modify it on the KeyboardEvent.KEY_DOWN event. There's a example of this on the template I used (though it's for Flixel).
Also, having a actual console would be way cooler... but also harder to do...

As for the game itself, I wanted there to be solutions that didn't require that I kill myself (like, setting y_speed to -1, getting to a check point and dieing to respawn with hacks disabled).

Still, congrats! It would be great to see a post compo of this game! =D

May 19, 2014 @ 5:35am

Wow, I loved everything about this game! The puzzles got me thinking even on the first stage! The inspiration is clearly from Hack 'n' Slash, but that doesn't take any of your credit! 5 stars!

Knighty says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 11:36am

I don't know what Hack 'n' Slash is, so no, it wasn't an inspiration.

For the console controls: I thought it would be annoying to have to press the button repeatedly to scroll down the variable list, so I intentionally made it so you could just hold the button down, but apparently no one likes that. I guess I made it too sensitive.

Rzial says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 5:44pm

The concept is awesome!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]