Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Moby-riDickulous

by Crooksister - Jam Entry

Explosion?

We have Nuclear harpoons!

This is Explosive Friends's first Ludum Dare, or even any game jam. Hope you enjoy our game.

ps. Try throwing a swordfish at a seagull...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#122Humor(Jam)3.33
#141Fun(Jam)3.43
#178Audio(Jam)3.49
#211Overall(Jam)3.45
#279Innovation(Jam)3.22
#293Theme(Jam)3.31
#321Mood(Jam)3.14
#419Graphics(Jam)3.26

Comments

Swingtop says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:34pm

8-Bit Pirates theme pulled at my heart strings.
Took me a while to figure out how to use the harpoons properly and then I realised machine gunning seagulls is the new meta.
4/5.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:54pm

awesome game! great work!

it was realy fun playing it (- : the atom harpoon was a blast : D

keep on going! hope to see another great game from you at the next LD

CapsE says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:16pm

The controls are pretty hard to use thats a pitty because this game has a lot potential.

Bensonance says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:54pm

I could just watch that nuclear harpoon effect shaking the screen with the 8 bit Pirates of the Carribean music playing in the background forever!

Epic work for your first jam!

Thorig says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:28am

Nice little game, but the graphics and audio are lacking unfortunately;)

spotco says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:48am

+1 for 8bit pirates chiptune

Solifuge says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:57am

Hi, this is Vector from the Victory Garden team! (posting under Solifuge's account)

I had a lot of fun, though I actually wasn't able to hear anything. The reloading harpoons mechanic is really nice! One thing you might work on is putting the game in a window rather than fullscreen (it'll help the low-res graphics look better) and adapting the level design a bit to give the players more time to learn the game before throwing quite so many sea creatures at you.

Otherwise, it was a tense, fun experience for me. Thanks!

ruerob says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:58am

If this game would be polished a little bit it could be very good. But it makes also a lot of fun as it is. Thank you for your game.

frankbsad says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:07am

Very fun game, could use a few tweaks to make it great though

ccglp says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:30am

Reload mechanic it's a good design feature, overall great game!

Dreii says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:59am

Haha good fun, loved the reloading mechanic, and great graphics!

Jed T. says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:03am

I had fun playing the sound effects and music are really good. However I got dizzy with the screen shake :(

MetanoKid says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:04am

Great gameplay and great humor! Awesome graphics, screen shock feedback really helps getting into the game! Music helped, of course :D
Good job!

Stepperz says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:06am

More fun than i had expected it to be!! :) Great stuff!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:29pm

Wow the graphics are awesome ! I love the style ! Great work :D

raulincze says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:52pm

Of course everything explodes! That was really fun :D

Nichii says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:12pm

At first, I spammed all the buttons on the keyboard, only to realize that you have to click on the harpoon. I don't like reading instructions, a tutorial would be much appreciated. Overall, good game :)

Cirrial says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:02pm

Really fun entry, but I couldn't beat the boss. Feels like it has way too much health and I didn't want to grind for nuke harpoons. Still, I like! I like the reloading system too.

JayPC says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:29pm

The game was really well done, I just wish the enemies wouldn't spawn directly underneath me where I have no time to respond.

Griz says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:20pm

I find the reload mechanic pretty sweet. For me it's the main hook-element in the game that makes the simple aim and shoot gameplay more rewarding. It involves developing an actual skill that improves durning the game. That's very nice.

Secret_Tunnel says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:25pm

Bahaha, this game is a bit rough around the edges, but I love it for it. 8-bit Pirates of the Caribbean, the retro graphics... they fit together perfectly. You've also got an awesome mechanic with the reloading, and I love that the game has one goal: kill Moby riDickulous.

Unfortunately, losing money when you get hit makes it a bit impossible to afford the nuclear harpoon. Fix that and you've got an awesome, salty game on your hands.

mimic says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:09pm

Pretty fun game. Not sure I was doing it right, but having to click the harpoon to get another one was a little bit annoying.

VQZX says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:01am

GREAT GAME EXPLOSIVE FRIENDS. VERY IMPRESSIVE FOR A FIRST JAM. You won me over with Malaysian Airways Easter Egg.

DrPrettyPatty says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:38pm

That was hilarious! :)

hadesfury says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:01am

Great mecanic ! and the graphic are good too ! you should continue it !

Tomski says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 11:23am

A fun game. Who doesn't like exploding fish haha

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]