Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Gold Miner

by byExclusive - Jam Entry

You are the miner. The Gold Miner. You want to mine those shiny rocks deep down in the caves. And you want to mine them all.
The game has pretty claustrophobic atmosphere.

NOTE: Adobe AIR 4+ is needed to play!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#295Theme(Jam)3.30
#458Audio(Jam)2.86
#510Mood(Jam)2.82
#544Humor(Jam)2.13
#548Graphics(Jam)2.89
#616Fun(Jam)2.45
#643Overall(Jam)2.69
#665Innovation(Jam)2.31

Comments

Ragzouken says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:36am

i like the menu screen image :)

am i doing it right by mining the gold blocks? it didn't add to my percentage and it seemed there was no indication i picked up the gold at all

nicolashognon says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:40am

I really like the music.
The game is a bit slow on my old iMac (Core 2 Duo).

Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:47am

I wasn't picking up any gold either. At least I think that was the gold.

byExclusive says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:03pm

I will try to answer all questions. Sorry for the percenage. If amount of gold is very big, you cannot see any changes of percentage because it is rounded. Sorry for game's slowness. And yeah, you should mine gold. Sorry for my bad English and thanks for comments.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:35pm

Not bad. I like the atmosphere of the game, very claustrophobic and oppressive, with the music and everything. I had a similar problem where I mined gold but there was no indication of it - even the '0 of 314' counter wasn't increasing?

BubuIIC says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:50pm

I couldn't collect any gold either, the counter wasn't increasing.
The art and music are quite good, but the monster sound gets annoying after a while :-).

BigRat says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:13pm

very well done .

theengineers says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:15pm

I love the premise, great menu screen, awesome xD

byExclusive says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:27pm

I tested game and found that gold counter isn't increasing. I'm sorry. I'll try to fix it if possible.

byExclusive says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:56pm

I uploaded game in a hurry and forget to disable debugging and fix counter (it already was fixed), disable FPS counter and enable some other things that was disabled during debugging. The deadline was over and I can't do this things because they aren't "Typos".

Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:10am

What's taking up 53Mb?

Vytheros says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:53am

Good game, but the gold value does not increase at all. I would probably check that and fix it whenever.

byExclusive says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:05pm

@InvisibleWonder, I think it is music. There are about 7 tracks.
@Vytheros, yes, it's a bug

TheGreenTie says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:14pm

I liked the digging mechanics but I think it would be better if it didn't require the mouse.
I liked those shuffled music themes!

timtipgames says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:57am

I like the atmosphere! The gold mining mechanic is a bit simple but it plays very well.

Nichii says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:40am

Nice game, though the sound of the monster is pretty loud.

urisensei says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:47am

Good execution. I would have prefered a bit more variety with the monsters, their growl got repetitive pretty quickly. That said, it's pretty fun to go in a straight line pressing the cursor a bit ahead of you, digging away to your heart's content.

01101101 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:16pm

Good mood thanks to the music and dark surroundings, too bad there isn't a bit more to do.

myachin says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:25pm

good game!

tutorial is a bit frustrating
and gold counter doesnt work

xdegtyarev says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:37pm

Like the ambience!

Cosine says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 11:05pm

The menu screen. Wow. The gameplay seemed a bit tedious to me. What was the odd sound I kept hearing, kind of like... Ooooweaaaa

terraco says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:36am

Hard to read those text boxes with all the shadows.

May 5, 2014 @ 9:58am

Nice ambiance but gameplay is a bit boring. I spent minutes digging everything and couldnt pick up any gold.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]