Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Fish Goes Fishing

by pvwradtke - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You're a very hungry fish, who has to eat a lot to stay alive. Eat other fish to survive, and avoid the dangerous Red Fish species, your only predator.

- My energy goes away too fast? How can I slow down energy use?
- Is there something that can scare that pesky red fish out there?

My 3rd Ludum Dare compo entry, written in C++ with SFML on Linux :).


Move Fish keyboard arrows, WASD and joystick.

Start: press space or any joystick button:

To quit or cut screens: pres ESC

Running the game:

- Windows: unzip the file and run FishGoesFishing.exe

- Linux: compile from source, requires SFML 2.x.

- Mac OS X: compile from source, requires SFML 2.x. Sorry guys, I have no Mac, but if someone is generous to build the file and send me the binary I'll glady add it to the page.

NOTE: the game screen says 2013, sorry about that, it's a "copy&paste exception. I sed the same base code for Minimum Friction, from Ludum Dare 27, and forgot to change it :(.

Downloads and Links




Lucariatias says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:26pm

Compiling on OS X gives:
zsh: no such file or directory: ./configure
g++ -std=c++11 -fpermissive -c main.cpp
In file included from main.cpp:11:
./Game.hpp:12:10: fatal error: 'SFML/Audio.hpp' file not found
#include <SFML/Audio.hpp>
1 error generated.
make: *** [main.o] Error 1

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:27pm

Only managed 4800 alas. Fairly straightforward game, well presented. Pretty decent though!

pvwradtke says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:28pm

Thanks Lucariatias, but all you need to do is run "make" to compile using the included Makefile. Also, it requires SFML 2, which you can download at

chipcaramel says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:20am

Pretty decent game, very nostalgic of the MS-DOS days.

hyouko says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:03am

I dream of being big enough to eat the divers and turtles.

stenol says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:15pm

Good work. It's remind me the DOS era

Keehan12 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:53am

was a nice little game, but I thought it needed something more. The graphics could have been better, and extra features could have been added! maybe a growing system, or multiple enemies and other ways to survive! was nice though

MrBlade says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:42am

Solid game, nice sounds, good graphics. I kept forgetting the red fish were bad and that there wasn't a size growing element to this game, but that's my fault. Overall a fine game, really enjoy the music and sound. Why does it say 2013 on the title screen?

cheesepencil says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:56am

I was unable to compile your game despite installing SFML.

But if it's any consolation, I took your advice and made windows and linux binaries of my game as you suggested.

pvwradtke says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:33am

Hi MrBlade, are we already on 2014? Whoops, gotta change my base code to make it up to date. LOL :)

pvwradtke says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:36am

Thanks for the feedback cheesepencil. Which error did you got? Notice that some Linux distros offer SFML1.6 (Ubuntu 12.X and derivatives, for instance), which is dated. The game requires SFML 2.X, which you can download the binary áckages from Was that the case?

byExclusive says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:19pm

Very Cool!

cheesepencil says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:51am

@pvwradtke Yes, I think so. I tried the dev package from my distro (mint) and that didn't work (it's probably old). i tried dumping the contents of the 2.x download from the SFML site into the game's source folder in a couple different locations and that didn't work either. I'm not inclined to install the lib without a package manager since removing stuff like that after I'm done with it has always been an inconvenient (if not painful) process.

I'll probably end up playing the binary in windows tomorrow as a matter of convenience - there are SO MANY GAMES TO RATE and it's just easier to play the binaries on win.

pvwradtke says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:35pm

Hi cheesepencil, I know how it goes, thanks for trying anyway. The Windows binary works fine under Wine (actually, I cross compiled the Windows binary with Mingw32 on Arch). If Wine acts up with your video card driver, you may try running it with the -w switch, that forces a windowed mode.

dertom says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:36pm

Nice. Very simple but well done. Actually I would have liked to eat some of those red fishes. They looked delicious. Especially when running out of energy :D
Good job!

ccglp says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:54pm

The music and the game atmosphere itself it's so relaxing, and makes this a good game overall ;)

callidus says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 8:49am

Nicely done, simple game but felt nice to play, good work.

jsmars says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 9:05am

Nice game overall :) Green fish have exact same movespeed which makes them a bit frustrating to chase.. and graphics could be a bit more polished but other than that nice job!

Bernhard says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 12:01pm

Was nice to see the red fish reacting to being lured into the bigger beings without reading the hints :-)
Also high-five for using a real programming language!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs ( and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]