Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Airport Security Screener

by SevenKingdomsSurvivors - Jam Entry

This is our entry for LD 29, Entitled: Airport Security Screener.

Our take on the theme of "Beneath the Surface" was an X-Ray machine at an airport scanning for contraband.

This was the work of 6 people, Including:
Lacutis : http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/category/ld-29/?author_name=Lacutis

Instructions are in game. Thanks for playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#131Humor(Jam)3.29
#163Theme(Jam)3.57
#181Innovation(Jam)3.42
#259Audio(Jam)3.32
#283Overall(Jam)3.35
#300Fun(Jam)3.12
#365Graphics(Jam)3.40
#391Mood(Jam)3.03

Comments

Luis Anton says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:51pm

It's pretty difficult to understand what I'm watching in the x-rays! Items are too small, I fear :D Oh, and some keyboard controls would be awesome to react faster ;D But well done!

bob_fish says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:18am

Very fun, great game! Items are a bit too small though, but I think it is ok because it adds to the difficulty.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:38am

Thanks for the feedback guys! We've increased the item size by 15%. With 21 minutes to spare... :)

CharlieLove says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:53am

This game is great fun. I've actually bookmarked it to play a bit more later. Trying to frantically keep up with the luggage whilst preventing anger or a catastrophe (which is hilarious btw) is highly engaging.

seanw265 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:27am

Love the music! Especially the first song!

Secret_Tunnel says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:48am

Great sound!

avalonknight says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:52am

Two casual games I've enjoyed last year were Funky Smugglers on mobile and AeroPorter on the 3DS. So it's cool to see another behind the scenes Airport game. The game works decently, but I do have trouble seeing the contraband at times, since it looks it could blend in with the interior of the bags or other items.

conormn says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:56am

I had a lot of fun playing this. Very nice take on the theme :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:28am

Really nice game ! Very original and not easy, I love it very much :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:23am

I agree with Luis, it's difficult to understand what I'm watching in the x-rays. But I like the music

microapple says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:28am

Very cool concept. Had a lot of fun, thanks!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:40am

I was not expecting this. it was quite fun, but it was a little hard to tell some of the bad items. they were too small. high marks for humor and innovation. nice job

elefantopia says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:45am

Made me laugh, 1/2 of the luggage have either seringes or guns, TSA not so useless after all.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:41am

I totally wished that rap track was on the whole game!

petey123567 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:54am

Beneath the Surface... with X-Rays! Cleverrr!

yo_milo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:01am

The game is fun... But sadly, many items are way too small... I cannot tell what they are... I know that is partially the point of the game, but... there must be a balance.

Team-KwaKwa says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:04am

This is an excellent use of the theme. It also reminds me of Papers, Please, but a bit more humorous.

BuriTeam says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:12am

Awesome idea! Nice use of the theme, the only problem i had is that it is hard to understand what is inside the bags..

stephan_h says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:18am

The game is fun.
Would have even liked it more if the screening would take a bigger portion of the screen.
I liked the silhouette people and the screening of the luggage, but otherwise the graphics felt a bit too cold / too noisy.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:20am

Nothing happens when I click on start! Using latest Chrome build. I liked the title screen music though. Hope to play it at some point. :)

mortus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:42am

Great idea! Most of the times though I was losing because conveyor sometimes ignores STOP button and just goes on when you press it.

PapyGaragos says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:51am

Albeit difficult, this is a neat concept. I like the attention to details.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:01pm

Hi Maschinen-Mensch, we have noticed this issue in Chrome too! If you go to a different tab in Chrome, then back to the player, it should start working again.

theengineers says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:10pm

It was really really difficult to get what was going on at first, but it has a great premise, and I would love to see it developed.

randoman says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:54pm

The game idea and theme are very interesting and the gameplay is quite fun. However I couldn't identify some of the objects and the faster version of the convenior belts was way to fast to see anything.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:20pm

Quite a fun game, I like how it gets harder and harder, however, keyboard controls would be good, and a button to start the line again when you've stopped it accidentally, overall great game and very intuitive

Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:08pm

Thanks for all the feedback! We have some ideas that we are working on to make the items a bit easier to distinguish.

The fast speed of the conveyor is to help get the line down, at the cost of missing items. We talked about a way to restart the belt when its stopped, but we feel that completely negates the penalty which is to make the line grow when you stop the belt.

Thanks again for all the feedback!
x

Maniulo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:15pm

Cool game, but a list of fordbidden items would be useful.

Statman says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:52pm

It's really good idea ! it's going very fast ! very difficult to see the items.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:03pm

Nice concept but it would be nice if you could have more control over the speed and maybe reverse the belt.
There could be a list of banned items next to the screen to make it easier to make out what the objects are (they are very small)
But ye like the GUI and the graphics. Really good idea

Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:21pm

Hi Maniulo and HelloWorld. There is already a list in the game. Please refer to the hint screen that pops up just before the game starts. Hope that helps.

taocayo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:30pm

Loved it! I like the fact the belt only has two speeds. More challenging this way. Great replayability, too. The sounds were great! My only complaint is the button to stop the belt sometimes becomes unresponsive after playing for a while. Amazing game, tho!

miwuc says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:28pm

Very cool concept, just wish the actual x ray screen was bigger. Awesome song, well done! :D

Armanky says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:06pm

The idea's pretty great, but the "dangerous" items are nearly impossible to distinguish, especially since you only get a glimpse of what you're looking for at the beginning. Maybe have a sign listing dangerous items during the actual game so you at least know what you're looking for?

I'd also say the images still need to be bigger, I'm leaning close and squinting but I still can barely make out what's in the suitcases.

Fun game, great idea, just needs some tweaking.

sharpcoder says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:09pm

Very nice! The items are a little hard to see but very cool idea and quite fun!

7elephants says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:20pm

One of the most original interpretations of the theme :)

Haha loved the concept! It's a shame you couldn't implement it better. It could become a good game with a bit more work!

Trilby says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:42pm

Funny soundtrack. :)

Phobos001 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:21pm

Pretty hard, but I got into it and played for about a good 15 minutes. Kinda hard to see what's what inside the baggage, but I suppose that is part of the challenge. Good work to you all ^^

FatJoe says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:25pm

Interesting take on the theme, good graphics and presentation. There was some object I kept missing and there wasn't really any way for me to figure out what that was without just testing a bunch of random stuff because of the delayed feedback.

wdebowicz says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:02pm

web link just give me:
The requested URL /ludum29/ was not found on this server.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:53pm

Very nice game! Into the theme in an unexpected way, and it is fun to play! I like the graphics & the music. The only problem is the graphics in the x-rays. I don't know if the problem is the size of the objects or some flter, but it is not easy to discriminate the objectw and after 3-4 times playing my eyes got tired! Other than that, I really loved your game!

Kerdelos says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:02pm

Nearly killed my eyes looking for the contraband ^^ Nice game anyway !

Snoother says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:35pm

Love the music and concept; it has that it-should-tedious-but-isn't feel that Papers Please had. I do agree, though, that the items a tad too small to see.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:55pm

>It's really good idea ! it's going very fast ! very difficult to see the items.

Agreed, wasn't too what what to press on. Still, this is a great effort, really like the theme.

adamwfindlay says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:58pm

Really cool theme! Had a lot of fun playing this one.

KuGrou says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:09am

Cool idea and fun game. Though it was really tough to catch anything until I played for a while and could better recognize how the contraband looked in the scanner.

Empyrealhell says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:09am

I had a problem with the stop button occasionally having to be clicked twice to actually stop the belt. Other than that it was a pretty fun game. There was something that looked like a line that would show up in bags some times that was hard to tell apart from the needle.

JPLynk says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:42am

That was pretty fun! My biggest wish would be keyboard controls, but otherwise the gameplay felt pretty solid, and it was nice to see the game get more difficult without radically changing the core mechanic.

jellyfishlion says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:58pm

The items were sometimes a bit hard to see, but overall this was a really fun game. Great work! :)

May 5, 2014 @ 6:29am

fun game,great way to use the theme

Logun says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 7:10pm

Nice and clean, but very difficult !
I would have maybe different speed for the machine, like 3 or 4, starting from very slow. There is 2 and both very fast :)

MokuJin says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 3:00pm

The music is Legend...ary !

The controls are not as responding as i wish, it's good enough.
The items in the bag are small, but I've recognize:
* Xbox controller
* the hat of an old TV-show (Chapeau melon in french)
* earpiece for Walkman (bad English sorry)
* Hair drier
* USB charger

It's really fun to play it.
The difficulty is well balance.

Very fine job !

udo says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 4:51pm

I had way to much fun playing this! I feel like I might have been a better A.S.S. if there had been keyboard shortcuts... well done, guys!

woodenrabbit says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 4:15am

I'm not even going to so say much. Just good stuff good stuff.

CommanderJ says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 8:51pm

I do think the items are a bit too small, but the game is fast-paced and enjoyable.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]