Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Shadows of the past

by Turnipnose - Jam Entry

I didn't have the time to do a whole Ludum Dare so I just sat down from saturday evening to sunday evening (about 24 hours) it is kinda also inspired by the topic "you are your own enemy", which I found pretty interesting but initially was based around the idea 'beneath the surface of your personality, there's something dark from your past'.

The game is a platformer, in which you have to collect crystals in order to open a door. But by doing that you will wake the shadows of the past.

Controls:
A/D : left right movement
Space: Jump


I hope you'll enjoy it

* note: if you encounter a bug where the shadows just keep glitching and no new level is loaded, this is the end of the game, I did not have the time to code a proper ending screen...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#8Fun(Jam)4.12
#17Overall(Jam)4.15
#58Mood(Jam)3.95
#68Innovation(Jam)3.78
#86Graphics(Jam)4.23
#435Audio(Jam)2.91
#492Theme(Jam)2.92
#1959Coolness24%

Comments

eufrik says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:09pm

this is awesome. very nice concept. gives you sense of panic even though you've made the path yourself.

allurious says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:16pm

I love this game so much! There's a bit of a bug at the end when I played it, but the concept is amazing, the graphics are great and it was a bunch of fun to play!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:18pm

Awesome. I really enjoyed it. Also I like the atmosphere a lot.

maloki says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:55pm

Wow! This game gave me goosebumps. Seeing the past me spawn and start following has this haunting feeling and it works. The elements tie well with each other. Nice work!

ezombort says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:56pm

Great game! Nice graphics and fast paced gameplay. Well done :)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:58pm

I thought it was just a standard platformer but then these red shadow characters appeared and made my life a nightmare! Really well made game, with lots of polish. It felt like a finished game actually.

colludium says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:59pm

That was great fun. Really good job there - thanks.

okkolobr says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:04pm

Great game. Really. Could pay for a complete version.

Zathalos says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:45am

Wow, I thought it was very simple but when the red enemies came in, things got more interesting. I liked the puzzle element where you had to figure out the best order to get the crystals to not die. Very innovative. I would like to see more levels and music. Great job.

BobMorate says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:57am

Fantastic game. The level design is very clever and the concept is really exciting. If you actually made a nice package of levels and a level editor I'm seeing this as a full product, definitely!

Jonochrome says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:58pm

Nice polish. Feels slick to play.

SaintHeiser says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:29pm

Interesting concept. Idea isn't new but you made interesting variation.
But pretty glitchy. At the one room I pass the exit but nothing happens. I couldn't control characters but "bloody guys still react on my buttons".
P.S. Theme implemented by game setting become annoying.

Mythalore says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:05pm

A very interesting mechanic, nicely executed with a spiffing art style. Well done.

leonalchemist says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:02am

cool concept, wish it had source, always wondered how u could have shadows players like that

MattV says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:18pm

pretty fun game!

Vandash says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:16pm

Really nice game, love the style! Took me a while to realise the enemies follow exactly what you do, but it adds a nice element

VictoryGarden says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:42pm

I enjoyed playing this entry a lot! The mechanics were nice, and the SFX did a good job of creating a feeling of "heaviness." I also enjoyed the difficulty of platforming through my own past shadows, and in the final level really felt they created a cute image (with all five trailing close behind). Good puzzles, excellent conveyance, and fun to boot. Thanks for the game!

Hyoga-3D says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:17am

Very nice art and animatios, good puzzles too, with the little monsters coming in my way. Very good entry.

Katamori says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 12:17pm

Great,polished, and beautiful game. Love it.

...especially when you run against your no-existing past clones, and their moves becomes completely chaotic. Hell, I'd even check its mathematical background.

oldbean says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 3:57am

Very cool! Great take on the idea of clones. Beautiful graphics, too! This is brilliant!

Managore says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 11:54pm

I wish there were more levels because I want to keep playing this. Great graphics, great concept and great level design to bring it all together. Well done!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]