Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Jelly Hugs

by Snild - Jam Entry

Being a jellyfish isn't easy. You go where the sea takes you, which will often separate you from your friends.

Some jellyfish need more love than others, but no one likes too much of a good thing. Help them hug the exact number of friends they want!

Written by Snild Dolkow and Ali Utku Selen at the Ludum Dare 29 event hosted by Sony Mobile in Lund, Sweden (thanks for a great weekend!).

Android source code is available at https://github.com/auselen/graph-bender

Based on game mechanics from Havel-Hakimi by Jacopo Notarstefano: http://jacquerie.github.io/hh/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#80Innovation(Jam)3.74
#106Fun(Jam)3.52
#179Humor(Jam)3.11
#191Overall(Jam)3.48
#379Mood(Jam)3.05
#437Graphics(Jam)3.22
#497Theme(Jam)2.91
#1651Coolness42%

Comments

HeyChinaski says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:19pm

Hugs! Great mechanic. It was new to me. Very nice graphics and a pretty solid game. Would have been easier to play if the hugs didn't cluster the jellyfish quite so tightly but was huge fun anyway.

Rate more games so more people will see this!

João Kucera says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:06pm

Great game! You need to show this game!

Tititesouris says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:15pm

Really good idea & game. One thing though, after a few breeding the jellyfish are on top off each other and it's really hard to aim.

metkis says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:17pm

I think it's awesome you have an android build. Great work here.

pighead10 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:17pm

Erm. Can I play this on a PC?

FGM says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:49pm

Cool concept. Although in higher levels, it kinda gets crowded and I can't see which jellyfish are connected.

Neonlare says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:15pm

Absolutely great mechanics here. Later levels did get a bit clustered but the concept is pretty damn fun and unique in itself. All credit to you, this is pretty damn good!

AtkinsSJ says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:45pm

Nice! Might be nice to see some more complexity - maybe some jellyfish won't hug others - but what's there is nice. :D
I played on a 10-inch tablet, so I didn't have problems with them being troo close together.

iiechapman says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:04pm

Could you make a video , I do not own any android devices, I wanna see this in action!

Jiddo says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:18pm

Hey Snild! Cool to run into you here. (John David from uni @ LTH here.)

Nice game! Simple but very effective and surprisingly fun game mechanics. I love it!

Seems like there might be a rather fool-proof "algorithm" for solving the levels, which sort of lowers the replay value once you figure it out. I beat it in 160 seconds. I hope that's decent. :)

It'd be nice with some sounds btw!

rojo says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:21pm

Cool puzzle mechanic. Fairly easy in my opinion (though certainly not easier than my own game, which is impossible to lose). Was cool to play a mobile LD entry.

Snild says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:45pm

Thanks for the nice words, everyone!

For those requesting a video, here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QGXTolEvlEE (also added it to the links at the top).

And some credit-where-credit-is-due: The game mechanic is from Havel-Hakimi by Jacopo Notarstefano. It can be played here: http://jacquerie.github.io/hh/

@Jiddo:
Hey man! Yeah, there is a fool-proof algorithm for solving the levels (which are randomized, BTW). Figuring that algorithm out (and failing to address certain cases in my first hypothesis) was part of the fun of the game for me. :)

Ithildin says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:15pm

The core mechanic is really cool, it would be nice to see it expanded into something bigger. Nice job!

ohsqueezy says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 2:44am

So cute and joyful! I like that the algorithm seems simple, but when I stop to think, I realize I'd rather play to figure it out.

Best score: 246

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]