Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Demon Shanker 2

by demonshanker2 - Jam Entry

This is no ordinary hobo, his name is Demon Shanker! Only Demon Shanker can see demons for what they truly are. Take a swig to activate vodka vision and let the shankin' begin. Keep on shankin' until you run out of vodka but be careful, shankin' too many humans may draw attention to yourself...

Controls:
WASD - Movement
E - Activate vodka vision
SPACE - Shank

Activating vodka vision will reveal what nearby patrons are hiding beneath the surface. Will you only shank identified demons or will you roll the dice? If you shank an unidentified demon you will still get the points for it. Shankin' humans will detract points.

Contributors:
David - Audio clips, art assets
Joey - Programming, art assets, audio clips
Wilson - Programming
Randy - Programming
Paul - Music

UPDATE 1: Fixed demon to patron spawn ratio.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#67Humor(Jam)3.62
#297Graphics(Jam)3.57
#325Overall(Jam)3.29
#338Audio(Jam)3.14
#361Fun(Jam)3.00
#375Innovation(Jam)3.00
#398Mood(Jam)3.00
#553Theme(Jam)2.75

Comments

JonathanG says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:23pm

Fun for a while, but I ended up taking swigs and not revealing anyone. Does it only reveal people who are on the screen at the time?

matt_j says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:51pm

Cool art and music.

savethejets1 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:15pm

A shanking good time!

hoqjed says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:50pm

Damn good graphics, damn good audio...damn good shanking.

demonshanker2 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:18pm

About a quarter of the patrons should be demons, might be a bug that I will need to look into.

EvilObjective says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:36pm

This game is hilarious! Loved the graphics and the sound. Can't wait to play the first one.

camlang says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:58pm

Fun game with nice pixel art graphic.

Ken Ichi says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:46pm

very cool =]

Delca says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:08pm

It was fun! Although getting pushed by those people was a little bit annoying at times. Are the (revealed) demons programmed to stay inside of the crowd? Because it totally seemed like it when I played.
Anyway, nice game!

Yword says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:10pm

Very interesting and funny! Well done!

blockbot says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:48pm

This game is so weird and awesome, great art!

BuKaneerz says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:47pm

Ahah so fun (:
This graphics and music

Garris says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 4:36am

Can't seem to get the game to load right now :[ This looks fun.

SnoringFrog says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 4:40am

Doesn't seem to want to load right now, which stinks, because this looks interesting. Hopefully it comes back up.

demonshanker2 says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 2:34pm

Currently fighting with my ISP, will get the site running again today.

demonshanker2 says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 2:35pm

Okay, the game is back up on a different server.

Nezzhil says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 3:10pm

Weird and fun.

VictorDoval says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 3:22pm

Well done, i even felt a little drunk!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]