Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Heavy Drizzle

by pikkpoiss - Jam Entry

Explore the depths of a flooding cave. Can you find the secret treasure and escape alive?

Arrow keys to move, Esc to bring up the menu. Picking up items unlocks abilities. Use the pump to lower the water level in the well!

Written by a team of 3 people in 48 hours for the Jam. We used Go with a self-made game library so it may not run as consistently on all platforms. Please let https://twitter.com/kurrik know if you have any issues and we'll try to get them sorted out for you!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#59Overall(Jam)3.79
#63Mood(Jam)3.93
#88Fun(Jam)3.58
#101Innovation(Jam)3.67
#138Theme(Jam)3.64
#150Audio(Jam)3.57
#352Humor(Jam)2.62
#368Graphics(Jam)3.39

Comments

v26 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:07am

Nice atmosphere, I liked the concept of the the water rising and there was so much tension when exploring the bottom levels.

copain says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:30am

short but intense. gradually tension. very nice.

Solifuge says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:09am

Hi, this is Vector from the Victory Garden team! (posting under Solifuge's account)

I really liked this entry. The movement was smooth, no bugs, sound was to great effect, and I did my best my first runthrough and still really couldn't get out in time. This was fortunate, since I got to see the chilling ending line. Clean screens, good controls, good animations. Honestly, this was really great. Thanks for the experience!

(Also, thanks for the review >< Much appreciated)

saiato says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:50pm

I like the idea of having to go back up to drain the area! I felt genuine panic when I started to drown, so it was effective. Memorizing the layout so I could beat it was fun :) Maybe if it were slower paced, people would draw maps on paper to keep track like in the old days.

BMacIntosh says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:24am

Worked great for me, and great idea! The controls were just a bit twitchy for me - it was difficult to precisely maneuver through those 1-tile gaps.

TomCooper3D says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:44am

such a great idea for this theme. i love the art style and world you've created. really great entry!

xdegtyarev says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:39pm

Great! neat and pretty graphics!

javifugitivo says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:48pm

The game is a bit short but the gameplay is perfect. Nice game here!

Boodog says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 4:24am

Nice job!

lajos says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 2:31am

Great graphics, awesome sounds, fun game! I just wish there was a "play again" button.

Loneshark says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 6:33am

More! More!

The BGM was like Chrono Trigger meets A Nightmare on Elm Street (NES)

May 6, 2014 @ 2:35pm

Fun idea. I quite enjoy trial-and-error style gameplay when it's not too punitive.

Audio gives the game all its dramatic flair. Almost too much!

Good job!

RowdyGhosts says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 3:38pm

I love the Zelda-without-the-Zelda-ishness of the game. The mood and atmosphere make me want more! More! More! ; )

hbocao says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 2:55am

Very nice! I really liked how the mood changes as you get deeper into the cave.
Maybe the levels could be randomly generated as to improve the replay value?

kristof says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 6:01am

Nice and atmospheric. I like the idea with the rising water level.

Dreii says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 7:24am

Wow this was really cool, very innovative idea! Loved it.

lasagnegames says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 8:04am

Intuitive and quite fresh experience, congrats!

Kingtrez says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 1:59pm

Pretty decent game, i like the water rising when you start reaching the bottom levels as well^^^. I like the tension but didn't seem much fun to me to be honest. But best of luck :)

Avichal says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 2:11pm

Good game :)

littleball says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 8:28am

Great game, thanks for making it!

May 17, 2014 @ 6:35pm

Great sound design. The puzzles were hard at first, but after I read you can use the pump it became much more manageable. Also it's very logical that you must take the chalice to the surface to win, that really made it more rewarding.

Delca says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 8:12pm

Could not play the game, despite being on a 64bit-Windows 7 PC. It crash right at the start, and it disappears quickly so I could not take a screenshot...

pikkpoiss says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 10:17pm

Delca: It turns out that you need an OpenGL 3 driver too (learned this when trying to run it in VMWare), which may be the case. In the future I'll work on displaying an error message in case any of the requirements are not met.

aeveis says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 5:09am

Nice short game. The music and sounds effects added a lot to the mood.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]