Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Deepsea Frenzy

by kong-chuen - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Deepsea Frenzy

You are asked to collect samples of the sea creatures that lurk deep beneath the surface of the ocean.

To move use arrow keys.
Press the 'A' key to shoot.
Hold the 'S' key to use slower movement.
Press the 'D' key to shoot a Torpedo.

Goal:
Shoot all sea creatures and collect them for scores.
Use a torpedo if you're in a tight situation, they kill all sea creatures and their projectiles.
(note that the explosion destroys their corpses)

Watch out for Electric eels, when you touch them they will do damage to you.
They also shoot out electricity which will damage you too.

Also watch out for the Anglerfish, they shoot lasers that damage you too.

Have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#723Theme3.07
#961Overall2.75
#1959Coolness24%

Comments

Gap says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:17pm

I like the concept :)

kong-chuen says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:25am

Thanks :D

Spaceoff says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:24am

Pretty fun, surprisingly challenging too.

Empyrealhell says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:51pm

A little too flat on the gameplay side. It's not really engaging, all the fish behave the same, and while the torpedo is a nice touch, I just wish there was more to do.

May 1, 2014 @ 6:54pm

I liked how there was just a massive amount of fish coming in. Seemed overwhelming, but was actually managable. Maybe too managable though, once I figured out a good strategy (holding shoot, going up and down in a small area), I managed to farm my way to 10890, and I could probably get even further if I had more patience.

tfendall says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:09pm

There seems to be a lot of strategy that isn't apparently evident in the gameplay, in terms of dodging projectiles, picking where to shoot, and horizontal placement. I quite enjoyed it!

xdegtyarev says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:40pm

Funny game :)

byExclusive says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:14pm

Very Cool!

dalbinblue says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:55am

Nice simple shooter. Found a bit of an exploit in the game though. All the enemies funnel down to the center of the screen as they progress, that means you can move near the top of the screen to avoid them. Specifically, I could line up the top fin of the ship with the bottom of the score text and continually fire. I would hit enemies, but would never get hit. I was able to do this for about 10 minutes slowly getting points.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]