Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Inside Mt. Drew

by Pyro Games - Jam Entry

Digging game with a shop.
We didn't know it was actually a place until after we named it


I just realized I forgot to fix the bug that has been in the game since about the 4th hour when I added the world generator -- he spawns in a wall. Oh well. Just dig your way out

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#403Humor(Jam)2.48
#434Theme(Jam)3.04
#594Audio(Jam)2.29
#649Mood(Jam)2.45
#659Fun(Jam)2.32
#673Overall(Jam)2.56
#688Graphics(Jam)2.36
#734Innovation(Jam)2.00
#1633Coolness44%

Comments

Dreii says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:15pm

Nice concepts, diddn't seem to be a goal but if there was one i could see this being really good :)

pyrogames says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:47am

Thanks. There was one point in development, right after we added the limited view when it was really fun to just go and dig the ores. We're considering working on this post-ludum dare

kirbytails7 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 5:52am

Agreed, this would be better with an objective of some kind. Still nice, though. Some music would help as well.
Also, it wasn't clear to me at first how I was dying so often, though I did figure it out.

May 2, 2014 @ 6:24am

It's a nice little game. If you were to improve upon it, I'd suggest adding some more challenge as well as more feedback when the player gets something minerals.

pyrogames says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:13pm

We were going to add a few more things, like lava pools and enemies, but we didn't have enough time.
I couldn't quite figure out how the generator should place the lava pools, because if I made them flow too much the whole thing would end up lava.

borrismoose says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:45am

I like that you managed to get the shop in before the deadline, you could take that quite far with a game like this. It would be good to have more feedback / goals though.

ViKing Games says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:04am

I really liked the cave generation, diverse ores, small amount of lighting, and explosives. Especially the explosives; it was really satisfying to make huge dynamite craters. However, the game could have really benefited with a goal. The only goals I had were buying the mining shot and going down as far as I could.

Relatively pointless suggestions for future enhancements:
-Directional lighting from your helmet. Not sure why, I just like that kind of stuff.
-More stuff to buy, specifically items that don't non-disposable items. Could be anything from a brighter light to a better pick.

manabreak says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:58am

Nice lil' digger. Could have used some objectives, though... Also, the first time I went digging, I mined like ten blocks and suddenly I got this "end of level" counter thingy. This never happened after this one time..?

Pyro Games says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:02am

I probably should've made it more obvious, but that happens when you mine out all a block's neighbors and it falls on your head. It's a bit glitchy-- I'll either get rid of it or make it better in the newer version that I'm working on =)

HeroesGrave says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:06am

I'm not sure what the objective was but the game seemed decent enough.

Muciojad says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 6:12pm

First thing bought - Mountain Dew xD Quite good game about digging but there could be more things/challenges to do. ;)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]