Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

MineDown

by CaiusTSM - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I did not spend all 48 hours working on this, more like 10, and relaxed. Have fun!

Controls:
Left arrow key - move left
Right arrow key - move right

Goal:
Mine blocks by running into them to gain points equal to the amount of ore in them.
(per square)
Gold - 10
amethyst (purple) - 10
green gem - 8
red gem - 8
copper (brown) - 4
coal (black) - 2

Losing:
You will lose if you go below the window bottom or above the window top.

Other info:
The blocks should scroll upward faster over time.

UPDATES:
4/28/14
- Fixed two bugs that caused the game to crash.
- Ported to linux and mac (run the jar file with the name of your OS as part of its name).

4/28/14
- Fixed another bug that caused the game to crash.

4/29/14
- Fixed some physics bugs that may have caused problems.

5/2/14
- Fixed bug that caused the player movement to slow down. (kinda fixed)

Known problems / Thoughts on what to do next time:
There still seems to be a bug that makes movement speed slow down, I do not have this problem on my computer and have no way of fixing it at the moment. I am told that this is a problem with LWJGL's inconsistent delta time or something, I should have used SFML or something else.
Also the text being drawn under the blocks is caused by my game not having layers when drawing (did not have time to add it).
You can drive off the map by going left or right because I did not have time to add walls.

IMPORTANT:

Make sure you have the latest version of java installed or it may not run!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#723Theme3.07
#923Fun2.59
#984Innovation2.48
#995Humor1.76
#1151Mood2.10
#1164Graphics2.11
#1210Overall2.29

Comments

CoderMusgrove says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:10pm

I get this error while playing after a while:
http://pastebin.com/pytuv5M7

It seems fun, but I can't decide because I don't get to play but for about a minute or two.

Myyyvothrr says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:23pm

I'm getting the same error. I think it was a bit slow, but I like the idea. Could be great with some music and sound!

CheeseyBob says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:25pm

For me, the movement speed keeps getting slower as you go on, until you can't move anymore, than the game closes.

Biliogadafr says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:26pm

Simple but playable :).
Sometimes it generates line without gaps and than game crashes.

CaiusTSM says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:46pm

Fixed 3 bugs that made the game crash, try running it now.
Posted 4/28/14 :: 7:46 PM US-EAST

quantumpotato says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:25am

crash on mac http://pastebin.com/6yiUX48Q

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:27am

When i land i got stuck or just cant move :C Looks fun tho (:

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:15pm

Nice idea and playable. I kinda like that the blocks not all look the same.

I felt the tempo was a bit slow.

One annoying bug is that the score text is beneath the surface (actually that will give you a bonus point) of the blocks...
Don't underestimate the importance of sound.

solkar says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:27pm

Sorry, I can't play on mac.

Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: MineDown/Main : Unsupported major.minor version 51.0
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass1(Native Method)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClassCond(ClassLoader.java:637)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass(ClassLoader.java:621)
at java.security.SecureClassLoader.defineClass(SecureClassLoader.java:141)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.defineClass(URLClassLoader.java:283)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.access$000(URLClassLoader.java:58)
at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(URLClassLoader.java:197)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.findClass(URLClassLoader.java:190)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:306)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:247)
at java.lang.Class.forName0(Native Method)
at java.lang.Class.forName(Class.java:249)
at org.eclipse.jdt.internal.jarinjarloader.JarRsrcLoader.main(JarRsrcLoader.java:56)

microwerx says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:31pm

For some reason, the deeper you go, sometimes it feels like the movement is slowing down until you can't move anymore.

CaiusTSM says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:41pm

Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: MineDown/Main : Unsupported major.minor version 51.0
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass1(Native Method)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClassCond(ClassLoader.java:637)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass(ClassLoader.java:621)
at java.security.SecureClassLoader.defineClass(SecureClassLoader.java:141)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.defineClass(URLClassLoader.java:283)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.access$000(URLClassLoader.java:58)
at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(URLClassLoader.java:197)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.findClass(URLClassLoader.java:190)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:306)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:247)
at java.lang.Class.forName0(Native Method)
at java.lang.Class.forName(Class.java:249)
at org.eclipse.jdt.internal.jarinjarloader.JarRsrcLoader.main(JarRsrcLoader.java:56)

Make sure your version of java is the most up to date one because that problem is usually caused by that.

Sparrow says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:22am

Nice game, wish I could resize the window or something because it went outside my screen. I also felt like the further down you got the slower you would move. Pretty solid gameplay on which you should definately expand. (powerups, bombs, etc)

xdegtyarev says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:38pm

simple and nice!

Joshua_Burr says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:43pm

This didn't launch for me on OSX.

Photon says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:06am

Besides being a little lethargic in terms of movement, I kept getting stuck and couldn't move barely at all. That really kills the experience on this endless runner type.

byExclusive says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:13pm

Very Cool!

Empyrealhell says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:17pm

Movement is still slowing down exponentially over time. Also, you can drill out the side and fall to your death.

Boodog says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 4:23am

Good job! Graphics could be better though :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]