Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Deep Sea Diving

by smikulcik - 48 Hour Compo Entry

HTML5 Desktop/Mobile

Collect All of the Shells and Watch Out for Sharks!!

Works best in chrome, should work in others too

Made with:
http://www.bfxr.net/ sound effects
http://opensongcomposer.110mb.com/ game music (Yay easy music button!!)
http://phaser.io/ game engine

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#258Theme3.61
#559Audio2.78
#668Fun2.89
#878Mood2.63
#1136Overall2.50
#1145Innovation2.17
#1185Graphics2.00
#1959Coolness24%

Comments

john_conder9 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:22am

Great job! Playing it with headphones made me realize the sound is a bit on the harsh side, but other than that I liked the music.

The gameplay, while simple, is fun and has the right balance of challenge, strategy and frustration. So even while it doesn't look or sound the best, it is a fun game to play through and is worth beating once or twice. Excellent job!

Cosmologicon says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:10pm

Took me 3 times to beat, which makes it a good balance. A little progression would give it replay value.

UnixXNova says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:19pm

Very nice concept should work on graphics

d_0o_d says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:19pm

Okay so this one sin't really easy to beat. The music is nice. Well done

thomz12 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:22pm

Simple and fun, balance is just right. It took a few tries to beat it!

sprawl says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:26pm

The last shells can be surprisingly hard to get. The controls are fine, I liked the game.

Could have some improved graphics. (but that applies to 95+ % of the submissions :P)

pancakecity says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:16pm

Not easy! I love it

JimmyBoh says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:15pm

I just played on mobile, and it was surprisingly easy! Regardless, very nicely done. My game is very similar, and I also used Phaser!

Reinkout says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:10am

Got it after few tries. :) Thanks.

Armanky says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:47pm

Not too bad, I was motivated at least to try and beat the thing. Hit detection on the sharks was sometimes questionable and some of your sound effects are pretty high-pitched. Otherwise it's pretty fun!

hampa says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:15am

You suffocated! Love this one.. cute.

Benjamin says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 12:32am

Smooth moves and smooth scrolling :) I died with the 20 shells on my first attempt. It's a very classic video habit to think that you will be instant-saved by filling the game objective.
I like the music and the breathing sound at the surface ( even if volume is a bittoo high on this one ).
It would have been nicer with a retry button and a small title screen.

end3r says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 12:14pm

Nice controls, playing the game is enjoyable.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]