Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Colors Beneath the Surface

by VictorDoval - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I wanted to participate in Luddum Dare but there was just 8 hours left... so this is what i did. Thanks for playing.

Enjoy!


The earth is under attack!!
Just the colors beneath the surface can neutralize them.
Find the colors combination that will stop each spaceship.

How far can you get?

Tips:

You have to click the sequence of colors from outside to inside..

The relationships between the colors when they are next to each other fools the eye ...

PD:

Thank you all for your comments, you really encourage me to keep on with the game.
( http://luminosapp.produccionesluminosas.com/2014/05/the-colors-beneath-surface.html )


The amazing sound track is a recording of my flatmate filtered with a guitar pedal effect. :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#98Innovation3.90
#174Audio3.44
#282Mood3.33
#474Graphics3.28
#532Overall3.20
#618Fun2.95
#838Humor2.04
#958Theme2.70

Comments

smikulcik says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:57pm

Clean graphics. Decent audio track. it's hard to distinguish between the colors.

Tipyx says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:59pm

Such a nice concept ! A little disturbing ! Maybe "kill" the color on the circle with have found for each step ? Good job :) (and I love the "music" :))

Doubstract says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:01pm

Interesting idea, but i'm little bored

Ditto says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:10pm

Dang beautiful game! It's very hard to know what you're supposed to do since the enemies doesn't react to my action until they die, I think your supposed to touch them with all the correct colors simultaneously, but sometimes it didn't seem to work :c

quantumpotato says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:18am

You can only shoot one color at a time? Not clear but cool concep

CaiusTSM says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:19am

Nice idea. I find it difficult to tell which green is the right one, maybe I am just bad with colors.

shuanDang says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:20am

Pretty solid for such a short time!

Gamepopper says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:21am

Clever idea, bit difficult to understand at first. Very good music choice.

tehryanx says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:44pm

Pretty cool :)

my one gripe is that the visual feedback isn't clear that all my shots count. If I click one color and then another before the first one radiates to the target it still counts, but it doesn't look like it counts.

Jyrkface says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:46pm

Wow, really loved the graphics. Was half convinced the gameplay was generating the music for a while :P

Maek says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:54pm

Good game idea!

stigmawall says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:56am

Nice graphics and a great gameplay idea. The music is very good too.

asotelo94 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:47am

Hard game man. Found it dificult to differenciate some color but overall entertaining. Thumbs up!

Larzan says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:09am

Great concept, the music fit in very good, gives it a very 'spacy' feeling, well done sir

Simon@LD says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:21pm

Cool concept, really impressive for only 8 hours! Great atmosphere also!

Gins says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:26pm

Nice idea, but it doesn't feel very satisfying to destroy those disks :) Some sound effects would have been nice.
Or perhaps multiple disks coming down at once.
Something cool can come out of this though, it's a good start :)

Menesetsu says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:49pm

I like the idea. I think it might be better to destroy color layers on aliens if player chooses the right color. I really like the music. Do you have the soundtrack?

May 1, 2014 @ 6:49pm

I like the concept, but I think the spaceships should be faster. Even if they gain "color layers" the game doesn't get much more interesting. I would make them fall faster with the score, instead of the color laying adding system. Still a solid entry, tho.

mjau says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:44am

This is pretty neat! The gfx and ambient music creates a great atmosphere. (wish the music didn't suddenly cut off like that though)

Those two greens are very similar to each other. It wouldn't've hurt to separate them a bit more, i think =P

Kate Kligman says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:07pm

This is a neat idea and a tight game. I felt a bit of disconnect between picking the right colors and the object disappearing, but otherwise had a great time playing.

rojo says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 4:23am

Interesting concept, and not bad for only 8 hours.

Reinkout says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 8:54pm

i liked it, it was really easy to catch up with it! Thanks for this.

Nanolotl says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 12:52pm

Cool idea. At some point the colours just never seemed to work though.

May 8, 2014 @ 3:37am

The look & sound of The Colors Beneath the Surface is really cool. Even tho the graphics are very retro, the organic scoring is quite fitting and atmospheric. Very Cool.

DonovanWu says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 2:18am

This is going to be so bad for color-blind people :( But anyway, the game mechanics is nice, simple and innovative :)

elefantopia says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 12:23am

Very interesting! Sometimes, the colors were difficult to distinguish, but I see from your comments, that was the challenge.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]