Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Cave Brawlers

by 1samuel4111 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

WAD / Up, left, right to move
Press mouse button 0 to attack

This is a 2D RPG. The game's objective is to get the highest score possible without dying. You can choose from 4 classes (Archer, SwordsMan, Axeman, and Mage).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#630Graphics3.04
#734Humor2.19
#867Audio2.09
#1010Mood2.44
#1029Fun2.43
#1060Overall2.63
#1186Innovation2.05
#1213Theme1.96
#1718Coolness39%

Comments

Zolkren says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:07pm

Good game.

blockbot says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:28pm

Pretty cool character art. A little more dungeon would have been cool. You should totally build on this. Nice!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:32am

I like the graphics, it's a nice style :)

petey123567 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:52am

Good start: now throw in some kickback when you attack or take damage and this can go to the next level! XD

pichifino says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:56am

Like it

cr2crstudios says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:45am

Great art! The attacking is a little clunky, but that's okay. :)

xhunterko says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:20am

You've got some background tearing issues, some animation issues, and that sound is awful. Still made me smile though. Not bad!

shatley123 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:06am

Awesome game! love the art. My only criticism would be the footsteps are really annoying, and the game would probably be better without them :P

someone says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:28pm

Good start, though it could do with a lot more content to make it interesting.
The attacking animations could definitely use some work.

May 2, 2014 @ 4:01pm

Dig the graphics and the simple animations.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]