Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Search For Sting's Desert Rose Beneath The Surface (feat. Bananas)

by Quady14 - Jam Entry

This is my 1-Hour Ludum Dare Game Jam submission!
I HOPE YOU ENJOY IT!

I claim no rights to any of the content used in this project, including the rose, flower pot, ceiling lamp, banana and bananaman models which were all downloaded from Turbosquid.com

The song Desert Rose is property of Sting and Cheb Mami, and produced by Sting & Kipper.

I made this in an hour so I opted to primarily use pre-made assets. Mostly meant as a dumb joke. Not meaning to break any rules, just having some fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#63Humor(Jam)3.65
#492Fun(Jam)2.77
#525Mood(Jam)2.80
#572Audio(Jam)2.39
#575Theme(Jam)2.69
#625Graphics(Jam)2.68
#706Overall(Jam)2.42
#706Innovation(Jam)2.17
#1409Coolness47%

Comments

jtpup0 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:18am

Nice job, should have fleshed out the game as a whole a lot more.

seanographies says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:54am

haha, that sting song brought back some memories. Good job banana guy.

Quady14 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:21am

I am now the banana guy. That is me. Banana guy.

Idkfawin32 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:01am

Rofl brightened my night

Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:19am

lmao, this is the perfect one-hour game. i have a soft spot for Sting, his music is both beautiful and a comedy goldmine, and this game expertly takes advantage of both those aspects. A++++++

jrap says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:30am

This game is incredible. Maybe for the wrong reasons, but still.

And one hour you say? nice job.

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:17am

omg, so fun! Is that a banana?

Quady14 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:25am

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5s--hg43ybY

Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:13am

My kind of game.

zebi24 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:17am

I like bananas.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:37am

ahaha, nicely done!
I actually ended wandering through the desert for like 10 minutes: a blissful experience!

Greg Power says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:37pm

That is a beautiful desert rose.

olkeencole says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:15am

Why am I holding a banana? Should I trade it for the rose?

soulrot says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:52pm

I hate to be an ass, but.. Although I had to laugh when I saw the bananaguy, I still think this was a waste of time :(

jacklehamster says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:18am

Quite an achievement for an hour of work! Spend some more into it next time.
Fun entry!

samooJAM says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:20pm

I found it! First I went to the hill and then I saw the hole from there.

moonmagic says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 7:57pm

You made The Search For Sting's Desert Rose Beneath The Surface (feat. Bananas) You Win!!

MarsBar says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:44am

hahaha holy crap this game is awesome! super hilarious, great job, you deserve a medal!!!

DrPrettyPatty says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 4:44pm

I'm really glad this exists :) Took me 10 seconds to win but it made me laugh haha

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]