Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Revenge of the Fish

by Colthor - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Local two-player whale-based basketball-ish Pong-like.

Dump more rubbish into your coloured ship to win!

Yes, I know whales aren't fish.

Built in Unity.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#295Humor2.88
#526Innovation3.10
#640Overall3.10
#661Fun2.90
#723Theme3.07
#729Graphics2.90
#757Audio2.35
#852Mood2.65

Comments

John Drury says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:14am

Controls are difficult. Made me frustrated. Trying to juggle objects into a side was fun though. Very good competitive game against someone else.

quickfingers says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:16pm

I liked the concept, controls need a tiny bit of fine tuning, the frustration was party of the fun but a little tweak and it could be super playable

Tomski says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:27pm

Loved it, the thrusty controls make this really fun to play

Colthor says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:28pm

Mmm, I think it suffers from only being tested by the person who's been playing it constantly all weekend.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:19am

Too hard, but really fun.

WhiteWolf93 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:24am

It was hard to control but feels pretty nice to have some kind of basketball with whales, xD! Nice!

muramasa says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:30am

One thing for sure. Would be nice to have multiplayer mode supporting players over local network at least. I played it alone, using both fishes, was fun, but I felt I was missing a second player.

blockbot says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:03pm

Cool concept, I think it would be worth working on some more. Maybe tightening up the controls. Nice submission!

JimmyBoh says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:04pm

This is a great idea! Just add a few levels, maybe the ability to change your creature, and networked multiplayer and it would be a great game!

simon02 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:06pm

As said before, it is quite hard. It is hard doing it alone, I can only imagine how long it would take to score any points at all when playing against some else. But the concept was nice and pretty well executed.

Tititesouris says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:07pm

I think the controls being so... intricate made the game so much funnier. I kinda wish there were more rubbish and different maps, but had a good laugh.

lajos says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:10pm

Fun game, except the control scheme makes it very hard to play. With the controls fixed, it would be awesome!

sandbaydev says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:11pm

Repeating what others said: controls were OKish, bit difficult to handle. Funny idea. I liked the art quite a bit. Nice job!

gnerkus says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:46am

The whales-which-are-not-fish are so difficult to control. If there was a button to grab an object, it would help.

SlipperyPete says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 1:09am

DON'T CHANGE THE CONTROLS, they are awesome the way they are, they are pretty much the only reason the game is even the tiniest bit fun. BTW I managed to from starting position swim straight toward the tyre & tail flip it into my boat.

LTyrosine says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:48pm

Here is a nice game. I really like simple hotseat 2 players games and this takes it at the best, with nice care to simple details (water splash, sun rays).

I don't see any problems with controls, is just hard to score and I liked it the way it is.

Myyyvothrr says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 1:29pm

Nice game, was really fun.

Colthor says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 6:12pm

Thank you for all the comments, and I'm glad not everybody was put off by the Asteroids-style controls!

garygreen says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 6:23pm

When I played this it turned into synchronised whale dancing! :-D It was good fun though and an original idea.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]