Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dolphins And Pie

by SuperDolfy - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My game for Ludum Dare 29 is Dolphins and Pie. I am 11 years old and I have been programming in java for a short time. This is my first Ludum Dare and hopefully not my last!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1959Coolness24%

Comments

WeaselZone says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:14pm

Tried clicking everywhere, but wasn't able to click to eat the pie. What am I doing wrong? Looks interesting, though!

Lrnk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:19pm

Cute graphics! And nice tutorial. I got to level 3 before my hand fell off

Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:52pm

Hey there ! The game didn't work for me (Windows).
When I start it, I get this screen : http://puu.sh/8qU44.png
But when I click, it doesn't work : http://puu.sh/8qU4F.png
http://puu.sh/8qU59.png
I'd say it's a problem of refresh, but I haven't coded in Java for a while x_x

SuperDolfy says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:51pm

callmemonamiral yeah sorry about the game not working on windows I know someone who got it to work so I put the download for windows. Sorry.

SuperDolfy says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:52pm

WeaselZone sometimes the game does that so just keep clicking it doesn't matter where you click just click as fast as you can. The pie usually takes 10+ clicks to eat.

Contacaton says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:24am

On the upside, it's very cute. On the downside, I think I just got RSI.

Solifuge says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:28pm

Hi, this is Vector from the Victory Garden team! (posting under Solifuge's account)

Oh wow, you're only eleven?! It's great that you're already entering game jams! I'm impressed!

I could clear the first two levels, but the third one got a little bit too hard too fast. The first level was good--it was pretty easy, so I didn't have to work too hard and could figure out the game. The next level I thought, "Hm, I can do this okay!" But on the third one, I ended up thinking: "Could anyone alive click that fast?!"

I hope you come and submit a game in August, too :] See you then!

byExclusive says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:15pm

Very Cool!

Boodog says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 4:23am

Cool game!

May 17, 2014 @ 6:24pm

Nice to include a tutorial. Most game skip that important step (including our game :) ).

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]