Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Farmer Sam's Grub Grab

by cavf88 - Jam Entry

Programmer and Game Designer: Carlos Vargas
Graphic Designer: Elizabeth Lee (All the pretty things, ugly things like background Carlos Vargas)

Help Farmer Sam collect the 5 veggies, but watch out for grubs!

Our First Game for Ludum Dare 48 and also the first time we use Unity for a game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#210Humor(Jam)3.00
#338Audio(Jam)3.14
#455Graphics(Jam)3.17
#573Theme(Jam)2.70
#639Mood(Jam)2.50
#655Fun(Jam)2.33
#676Overall(Jam)2.55
#723Innovation(Jam)2.11

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:09pm

My name is Sam, so by default I love this game.

ninjacharlie says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:56pm

I don't quite understand whether there is a way to tell if what you pick up is going to be a vegetable or if it's pure chance.

The graphics and sounds were nice :)

Milktoast says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:19am

Was that a tapeworm?

Move127 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:19am

Seems to be complete chance whether you win or not.

cavf88 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:27am

@ninjacharlie It's complete chance weather you win or not. So you never know if you're gonna win or not. @Miltoast that's not a tapeworm lol, That's a grub, I would't recommend you to google that lol!

Cake&Code says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:30am

More akin to rolling dice or flipping coins than playing a game since there was no way to tell whether a plot would hold a snake or a vegetable :)

cavf88 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:04am

@Cake&Code that's true, but don't tell that to Two Face ;)

mir007 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:44am

Great feeling in the game!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:33pm

This is a fun game, albeit a bit short :P
It feels a bit like gambling, so naturally, I had to keep playing until I'd won at least once :D

Kara Jayde says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:19am

I like the pixel art and sounds, gameplay wise I think it needed to be more than just pure luck/chance. Maybe by including a tell in plant itself? Or a way to see the snake/worm things move from plant to plant under the dirt (so it becomes like a cup and ball trick). Pretty cool though

Larzan says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:20am

It was a bit short, but nice pixel art and i love the music, hehe :)
It would be nice if the music were a bit longer and not repeat itself so fast, but good choice for the mood!

Korwegian says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:47pm

Plays more like a scratch card than Minesweeper. If you could somehow subtly tip the player off to which have snakes it would be great.

MattV says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:27pm

is farmer sam parappa the rapper?

FrozenCow says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:20pm

It seemed random where the veggies/fruits were, but still I enjoyed it. Nice presentation! Grubs are nasty little buggers.

May 1, 2014 @ 2:21pm

I didn't like when the win condition is decided by a simple probability of luck. Btw, nice music. :)

blockbot says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:39pm

Great art and vibe.

May 1, 2014 @ 6:21pm

Love the art and game play! I included your game in part 6 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series! http://youtu.be/K5ATRciKj24

mrbungle says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:09pm

I like the graphics and sound but the gameplay seems to be just a lottery...

vigrid says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 12:21am

This is just a simple gambling game with a nice background tune ;)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]