Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Dark Side of the Cube

by Guillaume_Cazelles - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The goal of the game is to go as high as possible.

You have to throw balls into the cubes to create platforms. You can also change the red cubes into blue cubes by touching them with a ball.

If the cube is blue, you can jump on it.
If the cube is red, you can't

Controls :

Move with WASD (For ZQSD, juste change with alt+tab)
Jump with Space
Throw a ball with the left click
Reload the level with R
Go back to the menu with enter

Theme :

At the first sight, the cubes help you to increase your score, but they are not your friends, at a random moment, they will change their color to become untouchable.


Game made by Guillaume Cazelles.

(Sorry for the bug at the beginning of a game, i didn't find the cause)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#117Innovation3.81
#298Mood3.31
#390Fun3.21
#457Audio2.91
#459Overall3.27
#551Graphics3.17
#838Humor2.04
#1175Theme2.14

Comments

manabreak says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:44am

Cool concept! However, you should hide the mouse cursor, as if it goes outside the window, it'll unfocus the game when you try to throw a ball.

It's rather cool atmosphere when you start reaching higher and higher, glowing cubes rising slowly... :)

Taugeshtu says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:46am

Unfortunately, perfomance of your entry is very low on my machine :( So, can't rate...

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:53am

Nice game.

micdoodle8 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:56am

Nice atmosphere with the ambient background music and the glowing point lights.

Mstrp2ez says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:03am

Cool game, a few beautiful moments. Does the game ever end? I played for a few minutes and got a pretty high score, but i found no way to restart except for restarting.

HunLyxxod says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:04am

Shooting the cubes in all the directions was really fun.
Jumping on them was too hard.

Lacaranian says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:07am

Not sure how it fit the theme, but as a game it's fantastic. The morass of cubes is fun the look at and dance around. Music is nice and subtle too.

no.One says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:51pm

There are really great moments, but it seems heavy on the hardware sometimes x)

Skywilly says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:15pm

One of my favorites. Congrats !

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:48pm

Cool concept. Music is really oppresive ++

Integershift says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:43am

The game was really fun! I enjoyed it! Its just the game's theme didn't really match up with Beneath the Surface

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:12pm

Great simple game concept but challenging, will be definitely giving this another play later.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:13pm

Nice concept. Liked it a lot :)

marccspro says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:14pm

Cool game :) The audio great !

vilya says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:19pm

I love your help screen, brilliant idea! I thought the controls felt a bit floaty for a game based on platforming though.

Also, and this is probably more just a personal preference, but I don't really think a first person view works for this. A third person view give you much better feedback about how close you are to edges, that sort of thing.

The lighting from the balls is a good idea, I really liked the look you achieved.

SFBTom says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:22pm

Oh man, I really liked the feel of this game, reminds me of a scene from Laputa! Quite difficult to play, but a lot of fun to try.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:24pm

Really cool ambience, with the music and the lighting and everything. And a neat concept too. I feel like the mouse look was a bit too sensitive but that could just be me.

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:34pm

Hi. Love the look as this plays, especially the light source on the ball. Fun toy even without the height game.

radmars says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:11am

Awesome concept! Definitely hard because of the floatiness though. Bigger cubes might help.

MintArcade says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 7:31pm

Idea is very interesting. Need more in game info, but this is understandable for the 48 hours game. Visuals are great.

AlbertoSM says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 2:30pm

Looks good, but the physics get in the way of the gameplay. It could use some other background to help orientate yourself.

DonovanWu says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 4:36am

Control's a bit hard for me.

csanyk says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 7:01pm

Unity plugin crashes when I try to run:(

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]