Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

PERCEPTION

by KyleDAudio - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Perception is a story-driven 'game'.
Walk about.
Talk to people.
Perceive reality and everything in ways that have always laid beneath their surface.

When playing this game, remember: Use the Left, Right and Down arrow keys to move around and talk to people.
Alt+Enter will go fullscreen.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#9Audio4.22
#40Mood4.03
#289Overall3.46
#451Graphics3.32
#475Innovation3.17
#506Theme3.32
#570Humor2.42
#832Fun2.71

Comments

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:09pm

This is the first game I am giving full marks across the board. Seriously enjoyed this one. Great use of audio, visuals concept the lot. Approach to the theme is excellent. Well done. Going to tweet this one :)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:14pm

Providing a zip file is not "Web".

Soo... Beneath the surface, everyone is dead? I'm not sure that I'm getting it...

The audio was great though, very strange and effective! And the graphics suited the general mood and oddness quite well.

FyberOptic says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:15pm

The presentation here is terrific. The graphics worked well for what you were trying to accomplish, and the music was perfect for setting the mood. I just wish that there had actually been more to do with it! But good work, nonetheless.

soy_yuma says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:34pm

I like it. I'm not sure I understand exactly what's going on. The audio is well used and effective. GOOD JOB!

Jason Lay says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:58pm

The audio is freaking awesome! The visual concept was nice to. However I felt like I was just going in circles and quickly got bored. However, great game, can't wait to see the next one!

KyleDAudio says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:10pm

@ZeppelinCaptain: Ah, I thought the red asterisks beside the 'Web' field meant I had to have one link there minimum. I see that's not the case as I've edited the page so now the .zip is linked from 'Windows', appropriately. Thanks for pointing that out!

Everyone else, thank you so much for your kind words and your critique! I agree that my conveyance could have been a lot better but some things were cut short due to time. I intend to write a post about my LD29 experience this weekend and more about the meaning of my game and stuff just to clear up any confusion. As the game is, the story's kind of half there.

I'll link to the post of my experience here for people when I write it. :)

SenorDiablo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:52pm

Really really good audio.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:55pm

Nice one, great simple touching little story. Stylish graphics, and suitable sound effects.

daandruff says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:56pm

I love these kind of games and you managed to do it very well. Thanks!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:37pm

Wow! This is an awesome entry!

You maybe could have polished it a little bit more, e. g. make a short tutorial at the beginning or show some credits at the end.

But the story is good and it really creates this strange feeling at the end, which is frightening (and awesome because it's such a good game). And the sound design is also really, really good.

MintArcade says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:52am

Nice story. Audio is very great. Obviously need some polishing.

Reinkout says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:54am

i wont say anything that someone else already mentioned. Thank you for the game! :)

Contacaton says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:54am

Brilliance.

Thorig says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:57am

Nice game, but this happened:

FATAL ERROR in
action number 1
of Step EventPlayer
for object Teleporter:

Moving to previous room before the first room.
at gml_Object_Teleporter_Collision_5


Still, I like the game.

Mman says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:49pm

O_O That was definitely something, great audio work as usual, and I thought the dialogue and visuals definitly complimented it well.
Though I am now worried about your personal well being.

01101101 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:04am

Not sure I understand the story, especially with this ending. The art and music work very well together though. A bit short maybe.

tomvert says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:54pm

Nice mood and music.

trueyomic says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:17pm

I didn't quite get the intended meaning or implication. Good audio setting the atmosphere though.

Rainpath says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 12:39am

Very.... interesting. I'm not sure what's going on. The music and color scheme did a great job of conveying the creepiness of all of it, though.

XenosNS says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 12:41am

Interesting. Think I have an idea what you're trying to show, will have to mull it some more.

randoman says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 3:01pm

Lacks gameplay but the atnosphere is great, nice use of the theme.

iambored2006 says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 1:01pm

Huh. I'll have to get back to this one, I'm not sure I understand it. Anyway, as an experiment, this is very interesting! Also, the mood is spot-on!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]