Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Miner Fish

by CheeseyBob - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A simple, arcade-style game where you play as a gold-mining goldfish trying to survive in a fish-eat-fish fishpond. Controls are shown in game. Download is a zip with both the game and source. Should work on all platforms, but if it doesn't work for you then leave a comment.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#415Humor2.64
#803Theme2.96
#912Fun2.61
#915Mood2.59
#928Overall2.79
#958Audio1.80
#969Innovation2.50
#1085Graphics2.30

Comments

Infraviolet says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:38pm

game pauses and stops responding after pressing enter
running on windows xp

ccglp says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:50pm

Reminds me a lot to a game in what you control a fish and have to eat other fishes to grow, but this it's a good rework, nice job!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:52pm

Nice idea. On Linux works fine. Pleasant graphics

CheeseyBob says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:09pm

@Infraviolet this may be caused by
1) running the execuable without extracting it from the zip.
2) not having the 'img' folder extracted to the same location as the executable.
If it's neither of these, then I'm afraid I can't help.

@Others: Thanks for the positive feedback :)

SuperIzzo says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:27pm

I've played a couple of variations of this game before. None involved mining though :D
It simple, but fun.

P.S: Do you grow hungry faster when you are bigger?

CheeseyBob says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:56pm

@SuperIzzo
Thanks :D
Yes, you do get hungry faster when you are bigger. Also, the food increase you get from eating is proportional to the ratio of your size to the other fish's size. The balance of these are the things I'm least happy with. I didn't want it to be too easy, but I think it's ended up being a bit too hard.

LewisG0400 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:08pm

Good idea fun to play.

sensenmann666 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:46pm

funny game :)

Zolkren says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:56pm

Fun to play, this is a good idea for a gameplay.

kbm says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:24pm

Pretty fun game-concept, graphics could use some more polish, though. All in all quite well done!

Seme says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:31pm

This reminded me of Osmos. Nice game! And this was done in Java! Nice. I'm definitely checking the source code how you have done this.

Kragnir says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:25pm

The fun for me with these kind of games have always been when you can just swim around and eat everything. In this game it seems that the extra hunger from increased size make it a bad idea to try and actually become big.

Avoiding the fish is too easy , not dying from hunger is too hard.

bvanschooten says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:33pm

I think the graphics are simplistic, but the game is good fun. There is quite a bit of strategy involved in this game. Maybe it's better to have the mineable blocks in other places than just at the bottom.

stenol says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:16pm

Good Idea. Good Work :-)

xensky says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:16pm

great idea, crazy fun and silly. who knew fish would be so good at mining?

badlydrawnrod says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:41pm

I liked the dual mechanic of mining and eating.

tehryanx says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:00pm

lol this was fun. good work!

sknoslo says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 7:36pm

This game was a lot of fun! Could definitely use some balancing. The mining was a really funny/fun addition to the game play. Nice work!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]