Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

SurfaZ

by Christophe - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Jump on platforms to reach the next level.
The first level is a simple tutorial.
The next level will show you that jumping can be dangerous.
Be Careful with the music which could be loud. (Don't max your volume)

After launching the game, take your time to read every thing in the menu. (will take 20sec)
I can spoil by saying : SPACE to launch the game.

It's better to play in fullscreen mode and max the resolution.

About the theme : It's all about the behaviour of the platforms, they rotate, they flip, they do many things that you don't want, but if they do these things, it's because of you.

if you need any rational explanation about the game just ask.

I let you discover the game.

I hope you will have fun, good luck !




Edit : Added Mac (hope it worked)
A Web Build now avaible

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#353Audio3.08
#639Graphics3.03
#640Overall3.10
#691Fun2.87
#719Innovation2.84
#770Mood2.75
#799Humor2.11
#1088Theme2.39

Comments

finefin says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:23am

any chance of a mac version?

r0x0r says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:07am

and a linux one?

darkflamejam says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:16am

Loved the menu, thought hte game was a bit meh (and wasd didn't work well)

manabreak says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:57am

I was wondering... Why QZSD instead of WSAD?

jorgemoag says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:58am

the menu is great!
the "expectations" is great!
the idea is great!
and the music is great!
but ... the WASD controls are not responsive :(

Jack says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:08am

I enjoyed it a lot, the art was simple but it didn't look at all like programmer art. There were a couple of collision glitches but overall it was really good fun. I would suggest having WASD as the default secondary layout because that is the keyboard config that most of the English and American users on here are used to. On a gameplay note, it's a little hard to judge distance - maybe darken further platforms? - and I wish there were more movement options and/or the controls were a little tighter.

Foofur says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:13am

I quite liked the idea of the game, with the moving platforms and such. Really liked the menu, too. But I didn't understand what you meant with launcherz perturbing the field... didn't see anything happen. Also it was a bit hard to see where you were in the game exactly, so maybe change the view next time.

Christophe says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:25am

The launcherZ are in the second lvl.
A WASD version is now avaible.
I Will try to improve the controls.
Also a Huge Thank's for taking the time to play and comment.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:49am

It doesn't open in my mac. OSX 10.9.2

Skywilly says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:17pm

Dejobaan (for the gameplay) X Antichamber (for the menu ;)) Seriously, it's pretty cool. GG !

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:50am

This game is awesome! I love the experience and jumping around and stuff :D great job!

NuSan says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:58am

I like the graphic style, but it's a bit hard for my taste.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:28pm

Cool designe - pure and polished. I think mouse control is a little bit too sensible, but this game i fully playable. Concept is simple but efficient - it's a cool plateform game - another :)

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:32pm

Nice job! Simple concept, but well executed. I wished that the colors of the platforms actually meant something about their behavior, but I don't think they did. Loved the music and graphics were just right.

Therrato says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:49pm

maybe it would be usefull to suggest wasd next time, more people have qwerty keyboards than azerty keyboards.

tomvert says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:12pm

It made me think of Ricochet the Half-Life mod :)

Integershift says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:02pm

WASD controls weren't very good... The art was very simple and nice.

joe40001 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:44am

Very innovative idea, I like the look and feel.

May 7, 2014 @ 5:24pm

Awesome game overall ! Great job :D

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]