Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beneath the Surface: Monkeys story

by dosER_42 - Jam Entry

Funny runner. Safe monkey-girl from poachers.

Run forward to the end of the map. Use Abilities(only Jump works) to avoid mines. Press [<Space>] to use Jump-ability.
Spend as less "monkeys"(100 penalty points per dead "monkey") as possible. Spend as less time (10 penalty points per second) as possible.
Control person by joystick (set direction of running).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#234Humor(Jam)2.94
#594Graphics(Jam)2.77
#598Innovation(Jam)2.51
#605Theme(Jam)2.63
#633Audio(Jam)1.93
#674Fun(Jam)2.26
#702Mood(Jam)2.19
#726Overall(Jam)2.32

Comments

Nelly says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:33pm

It was really frightfully for me)

Cosine says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:35pm

Why do I keep exploding randomly? Textures are a bit odd. Controls are awkward with Keyboard / Mouse.

DevWouter says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:37pm

Seems like a decent idea, but the fact that I'm forced to play with the joystick thing on the right doesn't make it an enjoyable experience.

lamphj says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:38pm

Nice graphics and controls. There are a lot of mines so I didn't make it to the end :)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:38pm

Its hilarious having monkeys blow up left and right! Awesome game!

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:36pm

Exploding monkeys are always fun, though I couldn't really use my powerups because my mouse cursor was tied up working the onscreen joystick.

TomCooper3D says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:11am

cant tell when im gonna explode ahah but it was a great effect

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:13am

I liked that you remembered where the mines were, but wished they were more spread out. Controls on keyboard/mouse weren't very good.

Raiyumi says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:05pm

Controls could use a lot of work. It seems more for touch-based gaming, but it's an interesting and weird game. (In a good way). :)

daandruff says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:47pm

Would be nice to be able to have some kind of chance against the mines. And the controls is terrible. Why no arrow keys?

mclewis says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:48pm

The onscreen controls seem like it would be great for mobile, but for PC it was slightly frustrating. Other than that I thought it was pretty fun, although there were a crap ton of mines.

mcburrobit says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:51pm

With an otherwise finished visual style, the stretched textures really stick out. I also didn't feel like I knew what I was doing, it seemed that I just randomly blew up. Other than that, a very solid game, could easily see this for sale on mobile platforms with just a little bit of polish.

javifugitivo says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:04pm

Looool! Nice red ass! Muehehehe Thats really fun.

0Creds says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 11:07pm

Thought the game was fun, but it doesn't seem as though there is a way for me to strategically estimate where the mines might be. Good Job.

Nizar89 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:11am

As theire is no sign at all on where the mines are, I felt like random is everything here. I died more than 10 times on the first 5 sec.

Still, the special effects are cool!

lowcade says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 2:56pm

That is cruel!
This is really hard to play the keyboard ...
But I liked the idea, animations and the pile of dead monkeys :)

CDK says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 3:06pm

couldn't play as lack of joystick - why not add keyboard controls as well? to widen your audience?

zorfmorf says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:44am

linux version 404's

zorfmorf says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:46am

I just noticed that it's just two times the regular link in a row, so easily fixable

GamerTaters says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:01am

Liked the explosions effect. I just wish I understood why I kept blowing up all the time. Controls were a little strange too. Interesting idea though.

dosER_42 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:02am

linux link was updated

zorfmorf says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:08am

Played it all the way to the end! Lots of dead monkeys (around 30 I think). I definitely like your take on the theme.

- It would be more fun if you could have any indication where the mines are. Maybe a small red dot so if you pay attention you can avoid a mine?
- The controls are quite difficult.
- What do the other two abilites on the left do? I can click them but they don't seem to have any effect. Oh and it would be useful it the cooldown for jump would reset on death.

May 7, 2014 @ 6:33pm

Love it ! I really enjoyed it :) Good job !

BadPaul34 says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 5:57pm

Hmmm. It is very frustrating ! I like the monkeys ass ^^

May 8, 2014 @ 8:53pm

Pretty bad you cant' really see the mines, that onscreen joystick had me running around in circles, too... don't know what else to say, sorry...

Hermes says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 4:20pm

Controls are pretty hard and a bit frustrating

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]