Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Save Us

by philip_sinclair - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Click 'start' and then use the arrow keys to move the blocks. Stereo headphones are recommended.

This game represents the underlying structure and fragility of our natural environment, and our relationship to it... Or you could possibly say it's just a puzzle game :)

The relationship of the game to the theme is made clear as you play the game....hopefully..

It was made using Unity and Garageband. Please let me know if there are any issues or bugs - and also if you like it. Thanks! Philip

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness89%
#40Innovation4.09
#231Overall3.55
#340Fun3.29
#367Audio3.05
#530Mood3.00
#653Graphics3.01
#799Humor2.11
#881Theme2.85

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:28am

While not fully sure how related it was to the theme, it was an interesting sort of frantic puzzle game that really tested the player to think on their feet. Audio was appropriately off-beat. I also wasn't very good at the game but still enjoy it.

Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:43pm

I like the gameplay, very simple and straightforward.

PixelMind says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:47pm

For some reason the web game run at less than 1fps on my Firefox.
The game seemed interesting from what I saw but unfortunately I couldn't really play it to give a proper rating.

Reinkout says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:59pm

It looks great! I think it has just the right amount of colours.

davidB says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:43pm

Clean, simple. Good job.

ApoorvaJ says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:14pm

Mechanically innovative, graphically minimal. Loved it!

hexabeast says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:38pm

Very good game!

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:39pm

Wow, absolutely loved the idea! I honestly can say I've never played anything like it! I didn't get very far, but really well done from what I saw. Only thing that could have been better would be a better/more readable UI.

Pierrec says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:40pm

I love the game, very innovative. But I really think it would be better without the time limit. it's frustrating :/

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:48pm

Very innovative, yet simple. Great job!

idovingx says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:53pm

really cool, but it's the hardest game i've played so far. couldn't get past the first black block, so maybe an easier start would be good (and no time limit, since it's more of a puzzle than a race)

Tanner says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:00pm

Pretty good!

martinysa0311 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:21pm

Is a great game. Has potential.

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:48pm

Hi. Loved the mechanic. I think quite slowly and panic... so an option to play with no time limit, just trying to solve the problems, would be good ? Or maybe just for first few checkpoints ?

pawegio says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:49pm

Innovative gameplay, really enjoyed it. I will be returning to this game.

thinkster says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:56pm

Nice little game, enjoyed the gameplay. Simple enough to pick up quickly yet enough depth to keep you playing!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:59pm

It is coming up as a blank screen for me.

monika says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:16pm

Nice!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:31pm

This is an original idea but really hard. THX ++

Seraphina says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:43pm

Simple yet fun. And I LOVE the audio in this game. Great job!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:28pm

Very nice mecanics, fun to play. The sound may be a little unfriendly some time.

lightsoda says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:49am

Quite hard, but a nice idea for a puzzle game. To further enhance the puzzle part of it, maybe the little squares could've had some direction indicators, and step slower at the beginning, like once per second, and ramp it up, making it more thinking and less mechanics based at the start until you get used to it.

Looks good, nice use of colors to focus on the important parts.

alexdantas says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:11am

What stands most about this game (in comparison to the other entries) is the way it teaches you how to play it.

Seriously, most games simply throw you on the action, expecting you to press every single key to continue!

Aside from that, it was a nice puzzle, definitely recommending to my friends!

terraco says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:14am

Really cool. That timer seems useless though. Could do without it

Therrato says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:00pm

Played for a while, then got a bit annoyed by the sound, it was fun though

Lucio says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:05pm

Great job! I dont think it fits the theme but a great entry overall! Congrats!

devince says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:07pm

Good

Charimation says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:10pm

Oh, hey I recognize this game! (it's Char from the jam down at 8Bit)
It's looking really great, super unique and original gameplay and really challenging too! I enjoyed playing it :) Such a cool idea!

mortus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:14pm

Great idea, I like the concept. It doesn't look that much hard to me, except it's too easy to lose by too much distance. It sometimes seems that I lose when the distance is in middle range and sometimes they could be so far apart and I still won't lose. I also have no idea what does the words around the level say, every time I have time to look at them (and remember they are) it's already too late because I've lost. :D

Beavl says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:17pm

Like the concept a lot! Timer is useless, yes. Distance between two players is enough as lose condition. Sfx are ok. Wow. Really like this one. Kind of lemmings + ibb and obb or something like that. And blocks. Congrats on this!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:17pm

Nice puzzle game ! Not as easy as I thought :D

nicolashognon says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:24pm

it is a bit hard but the idea is pretty interesting.

DMinsky says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:06pm

Cool, realy cool! Finaly some fresh mechanic! Also, great audio theme!

sprawl says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:09pm

I like it. It isn't that hard once I understood that what was killing me was the two blocks being too far apart. Great Idea.

Yword says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:22pm

Innovative idea and gameplay. The bars look like audio visualization bars, maybe you can add some gameplay elements related to musics.

neekobus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:51pm

Very inovative game !

IMHO :
- time limit is too short.
- deserve a better bg music
- don't like vibrating blocks

Good work overall ! I expect to see more !

ninjacharlie says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:57pm

Man that's tough. I really liked it though :)

Good job :)

Nocturnal says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:28pm

Clever game. I like the the look. Very clean.

Lrnk says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:49pm

Really clever! Major points for originality and neat design.

Karmalis says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:37am

Wow, this is really smart. I like it a lot, gets my brain gears turning... very fast. Challenging, but that's what I like about the games. Very nice work.

castlecake says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:05pm

Nice game, very unique, with a great challenge!

May 1, 2014 @ 9:48am

THAnks for all your comments! So it seems that the timer is really annoying everyone, and the UI is not very easy to read. To keep within the rules of the comp I have adjusted the time limit slightly to give players more of chance to play the game before getting completely flipped off.

tomvert says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:04pm

I was so disppointed when I reached time out, I wish there was no time since I was very slow. It's a shame since it's one of the best gameplay idea I've in this ludum dare, I want to finish it though. I'll try again, the game deserves it.

Kerdelos says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:08pm

Amazing ! maybe a bit too dificult

Zccc says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:20pm

Very innovative and well executed. I couldn't get far, but you had me playing for a lot of time, thank you!

May 1, 2014 @ 3:11pm

Clever mechanics. Seems a little bit Lemmings-ish, sort of. The simple presentation looked cool too. Very interesting stuff!

Waterman7 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:57am

Really innovative concept, one of my favourite entries so far!
Only thing that's missing, in my opinion, is some kind of indicator on how far you got each time, so you can compare your records with friends.

Lacaranian says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:40pm

Nice work, a bit trickier with a time limit.

TobiasW says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 5:52pm

Criticism first: It's a pity I have to use the mouse to restart and the keyboard to move, as I had to restart quite a lot at the beginning. I would've also loved to play this on my Android tablet (or at least with the mouse) - I think that would've been more intutive.

It's a really interesting concept and quite a unique take on timing puzzles. I like how blocks are obstacles and helping tools, sometimes at the same time. Oh, and the explosion at the end is really cool!

May 4, 2014 @ 8:30pm

Thanks Tobias. You make a good point about using the mouse to restart, hadn't really thought about that. I will implememnt after the comp has finished. Philip

koe415 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:48pm

Great audio design and very unique gameplay. Pretty difficult to make it far in a level. One thing I noticed was that when ever I made it far, it was hard to pay attention to the overlaid text. Enjoyed it quite a bit!

joe40001 says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 9:26pm

I like it a lot, but the only issue I have is that I like to be able to beat all the games I play in this LD, and this one it feels like in the end it wants me to exploit a glitch where they will both float horizontal when they have very close the the same x position. (You can discover this glitch at the very beginning by having them go left). However due to the design of the single blocks leading up to the end it seems virtually impossible to do this, like you'd have to have them be <.5 width apart but still switch that last block when one of the blocks is <.5 on the first black block and this split second timing is at the very end of the game...

So tell me, is there any special if you manage to pull off this miracle? And drift to the right for a while?

(I do like the game a lot though, right amount of difficulty IMO, but that's because I like challenging things).

conormn says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 11:52pm

Really neat mechanic! Very well done :)

May 8, 2014 @ 8:42am

joe40001! I am amazed that you managed to get that far! and you found the glitch too! and you did actually complete the game, the ending was the last piece of text that appears. i did think that the glitch would make a really nice ending, with the two blocks floating in harmony to infinity but as you rightly point out, it would be very hard to time this correctly. thank you for persisting with the game to the end, i've never managed to get that far without giving myself loads more time. you are the best 'save us' player in the world! thanks again! Philip

joe40001 says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 9:46am

Oh my, thank you. I like a good challenge, and this game was very well made and fun/challenging. I think the going off to infinity would be possible to orchestrate but the lead up blocks would have to be different. If there were like 4 sets of 4 thickness I think getting them synced would be doable. But I don't think anybody but me would probably bother :P

I really liked the game, it's challenging for sure, but it's also not too long. I enjoyed getting to the end of this game, and pretty much every LD29 game I play I try to play to completion, and I promise you this was not even close to being the most annoying one to get to the end of (it was fun!)
:)

May 10, 2014 @ 8:09pm

Super challenging game, love the use of theme! I included it in part 20 of my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/LetpuBbjABA

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]