Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Stars, Like Dust

by davedx - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Developed for Chrome browser. Click to create, and to destroy. Patience.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#423Innovation3.25
#1148Graphics2.15
#1167Overall2.43
#1239Fun1.75
#1264Theme1.47
#1798Coolness35%

Comments

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:52am

The fan of my computer starts making noise like a plane when i play your game, but the game is awesome. Maybe you should make it less laggy or optimize the code or something.

Zutty says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:03pm

There's no real explanation as to whats going on here.

Lyje says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:06pm

Very cool little sandbox sim idea :) Limited, but interesting.

kmakai says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:09pm

Very interesting, it would be great if you could zoom in or mouse over stars to see information, I wasn't exactly sure what in the feed was happening where. I don't think the black hole was working, also. Is there a limit to the amount of creation you can do at once? Great job!

Fortyseven says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:10pm

My fan went nuts, too. Damn. :)

miwuc says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:29am

Very cool concept. A bit limited for now but I really loved the idea.
I couldn't get black holes to work though, and I'm not sure I get how this fits the theme?

xdegtyarev says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:35pm

Interesting idea.

mrexcessive says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 7:03pm

Hi. Not rated yet. IE11/Windows8, get the loading screens etc. When click get Action drop-down. Then Black Hole graphic or supernova displayed (1/4 only) in top left corner of screen... something not working ?

Moosefly says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 5:59pm

Watched those colonies grow for a few hundred years while following the galactic newsfeed. Pretty barebones at the moment, but it was somewhat fun playing god.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]