Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Elite Submarine

by wilpel1234 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Elite submarine is a difficult score attack game where you try to get as far as possible. You fight other submarines and at the end of every level you get to fight a boss. Every time you beat a level you get to upgrade your submarine with money you've collected during the game. You then proceed to the next level, of higher difficulty.

Post how far you made it! :D

Downloads and Links




andymar says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:00pm

Nice, well thought out, intelligent game.

Covenant says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:02pm

Some balancing issues... it starts slow... 1 on 1, after 4 rounds I got hit by 4 subs at once!
It reminded me of the old ZX Spectrum classic, high-noon! :)
Good job!

andymar says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:09pm

Nice, well thought out, intelligent game.

mimic says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:13pm

Fun game! But pretty hard. I barely got past level 1.

pinion says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:14pm

Technical question - Why did you make your game download images rather than just bake them into the jar or with the download?

Vytheros says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:18pm

Awesome game, although it is ridiculous. I died after 10 seconds of playing it after a sub came from in front and a missile(?) hits me

Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:19pm

While the game itself is quite entertaining to play, there isn't anything special about the game that made it stand out. The graphics is decent, there is no lag, but...
It just doesn't have uniqueness to it.
But a fun game is a fun game. I'll give that a credit :D

brogrammers says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:38pm

Wow! Only 25 Kb? I love it!

Gwinnell says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:02pm

Level 1 goes on for ages, hit boxes are little big, and some of the upgrades don't server enough of a purpose. A little disappointing to not have any audio too. If this if your first jam game, great effort!

Thorig says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:21am

Nice game. Enjoyed playing it.

Dietrich Epp says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:23am

$58 and Level 2... love the boss and the particle effects! Might want to put instructions at the start (for the controls and stuff).

KirbiKaka says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:17am

Wow, this game is really fun! The mechanics are solid and the upgrades are definitely a plus!

One thing I think I'd like to see is a recolour of the enemy's bullets, just so it's a little more obvious which ones are yours and which ones are theirs once you get to the point where you have quad shooter or minigun and bullets are just flying everywhere! Also, the pacing seems a little off as in the first level was really long, but as the game continues it seems like the boss comes earlier and earlier?

Overall, this game is awesomely fun, even without little extras like audio :]! Awesome work :D

x1212 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 8:33am

Really challenging ... but don't you think the gravity is a bit too strong for a game with a underwather-setting?

wicht says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:09am

Quite hard, couldn't get behind level 1, also some lags. Nice nevertheless.

GamerTaters says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 11:02am

Cool game. Liked the look of it. Good use of particle effects. Very challenging.

SoupWithBits says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:23pm

Strangely aesthetically pleasing.
Pretty hard too. Sweet game overall.

Stepperz says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:44pm

I couldn't see my sub!!

Team-KwaKwa says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:48pm

Yay, I made it to level 11! 499$ left, had managed to equip armor 4, engine 4 and minigun 1 (and I was sparing for minigun 2 :p). Simple, yet effective. It was very fun playing it!

eckcz says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:55pm

AAAAAAHH died at Lv11. It's some kind of hardcore after like Lv7. It's really hard and fun to avoid the enemy missiles :D

ccglp says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:41pm

Nice game, pretty funny

terraco says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:25am

Nice work

May 4, 2014 @ 10:17am

Nice little game but a bit monotonous. Youd shoul add some powerups, other weapons. Maybe you did but Level 1 seemed to be forever...

hyouko says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:57pm

Made it to level 2. I liked the sub-customization aspect, but the way the health was set up it wasn't super clear how armor works (does it block 0.5 damage per bullet?)

Found it a bit amusing how every enemy sub apparently carries exactly $1. Times must be tough in the Land of Red Submarines!

rincewind_cz says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 1:59pm

It's too hard and repetitive in my opinion. Controls are ok, graphics too. :-)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs ( and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]