Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Under the Hood

by Red Light Collective - Jam Entry

Prepare to ignite as you rumble through the inside of an engine!

Play as Paul the gasoline drop and absorb other drops to get big enough and power up the engine!

Touching a smaller drop will add it your size, try and get to the target size before time runs out.

Fire consumes you, giving you a speed bost; while water dilutes you and makes you slower.

Move using WASD.



Made with the theme "Beneath the Surface" for Ludum Dare 29.

Progamming:

-Felix Izarra (@FelixIzarra)

-Felix Vegas (@Felix_Vegas_)

Audio: Jan Marcano (@AldianSolkai)

Art: Marcos Vieira

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#311Humor(Jam)2.72
#322Audio(Jam)3.17
#346Fun(Jam)3.03
#364Mood(Jam)3.07
#522Theme(Jam)2.84
#536Graphics(Jam)2.94
#561Overall(Jam)2.88
#593Innovation(Jam)2.53

Comments

friken says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:32pm

cool concept, good movement, but after a little while all the other shapes disappeared except for these white light things that didn't seem to impact me.

KickBack says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:02pm

I also had trouble keeping the other shapes around. It seems if I wander a little further I never find other things to absorb.

DustyStylus says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:03pm

Interesting idea, nice graphics. Similar similar situation to "friken", I seemed to lose all the other shapes at some point.

daandruff says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:04pm

Nice Osmos clone, but why use WASD instead of arrow keys?

Nezzhil says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:04pm

Too Many time without see anything to eat or scape.

lucidlarva says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:05pm

After I figured out I gotta be fast enough to get big before the next round everything snowballed and I became ginormous.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:06pm

This reminds me a lot of the first level(s) in Spore :P
I did wander of as a little drop (I don't know why) and I couldn't find anything again. It felt like the world was completely empty... :(
All in all, this is a fun, good game! Congratulations! :)

simon02 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:06pm

Nice game. The particles did vanish at some point and new ones would spawn very sudden in big groups, almost always killing me instantly.

Korwegian says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:23pm

Really fun, but spawning should be spread out across the area off screen instead of coming from one point. When I got too far I died from bigger drops spawning on me.

vladimirdlc says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:36pm

Fun game, the art is nice, the music and sound seems fitting, just to add that the scale of the difficulty seems a little rough, some deads to me seemed a little too sudden.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 10:05pm

nice game,

mark.goetz says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:16pm

Nice work. I like that you gave the other gas drops some personality. I also ran into the same issue as many other people, where the rate of other gas drops spawning was off - too much dead time without seeing other drops, followed by a bunch of humongous drops spawning. But it's an interesting new theme to play!

elefantopia says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 4:35am

Interesting game with cute music. Maybe smaller space or more gas drops to absorb.

pikkpoiss says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 5:34am

This was fun! The only frustrating bit was getting killed by randomly spawning groups which seemed to pop up right underneath me 5-6 times in a row. But I found myself getting pretty into the gameplay, just... need... a... little... more... size :)

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 4:55am

cool idea and good execution - i almost got to 10 - nice job

udo says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 4:22pm

Cute little droplets! Good job :)

Kragnir says ...
May 20, 2014 @ 12:44am

A fun short game, don't like the idea of balancing it so that moving around is too slow at large size. Like that the game zoom out. The growth rate of the droplet is probably too fast.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]