Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Erutcarf

by Collan - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Your goal is to crack the ball open.

Movement: WASD/Arrow Keys/Gamepad
Enter key to begin from title screen or reset.

Tools used: Unity, blender, Reaper, Paint.NET

*I have not yet been able to test the Mac/Linux versions, please let me know of any issues.

There are multiple outcomes.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#677Audio2.54
#872Innovation2.64
#888Mood2.62
#1058Fun2.39
#1125Graphics2.21
#1171Theme2.15
#1181Overall2.39

Comments

Norse Games says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:51pm

The goal is good, but it needs to be more challenging and less just tapping away at keys without thinking. Also, the lack of camera controls meant that I often found myself having no idea where I was or where I was going. Good Audio, though and decent graphics.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:34pm

It was pretty cool just rolling around, but I really wanted to be able to rotate the camera.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:42am

Hi ! it was impossible to move, couldn't find how to control the sphere, I will come back later

petey123567 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:47am

I cracked it open! Also, would be nice if the camera showed me where I was going better when travelling up hills.

torcado194 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:50am

pretty interesting. the idea of just rolling around over rolling hills (pun definitely intended) is very relaxing.

olkeencole says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:24am

Really needs the ability to rotate the camera.

justinmchase says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:33am

I'm gonna say it... the theme was below the surface and this game seemed to be all about being above the surface.

Jonapulse says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:35am

What have I done? WHAT HAVE I DONE!?

Sim00n says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:37am

The lack of camera control is the biggest issue. I gave it 3 tries but my ball got bugged every time unfortunately. It was launched into space once and went through the floor into the oblivion twice. Sorry mate.

ElStevo says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:21am

Nice variation on the theme. I also got issues with the camera and the movement are skippy...

Boodog says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:36am

Good job, but the camera could have some work done on it :)

Collan says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:40am

@justinmchase - The game is about what's below the surface of the object, not the world. Different take. ;)

Re: camera controls - I know, I kept putting off camera work, and got too burned out to fix it by the end. :/

Lyje says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:45am

Agree with others - a more dynamic camera would have definitely helped with this game. Ignoring that - I found strange satisfaction just rolling up the mountain and cracking the ball... How odd!

gre says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:14am

That is quite fun to play!
The idea is quite original.
Too bad the player motion is bit bugged and also would deserve some more polished graphics.

mrexcessive says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:13pm

Hi. Follow-cam jitters a bit, maybe something can be done about that. Does the object rotate ? maybe a texture which shows that. Changing direction by right-click camera might be nice. Managed to open it, fun toy!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]