Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Fishit

by andymar - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hi there. I'm 13 and this is my first entry to the Ludum Dare competition, so I'll say right from the start not to expect a masterpiece. However, check it out and, most importantly, have fun!

-----INSTRUCTIONS--------
Use the arrow keys to move the boat and set the depth of the hook. Collect as many fishes as you can before the sun sets! (My high score = 36)
Remember that once you catch the fish, you need to pull it back up to your boat.
If you're running Linux or OS/X, you can always download the source and run it yourself with the compiler (http://love2d.org).

----!!!!!BREAKING NEWS!!!!!----

Fishit for Web is now out!
It can get really laggy at times, so if you can I would still recommend downloading the Windows version, but it's there if you want.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#408Fun3.19
#542Humor2.45
#759Theme3.03
#788Overall2.94
#796Mood2.72
#954Audio1.82
#991Innovation2.47
#1138Graphics2.18

Comments

Zazibar says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:57pm

Great first entry, well done!

Infraviolet says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:57pm

not bad and still less bugs than my game.
speed is a bit too fast though

ezombort says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:59pm

The game was quick and fun to play :) Plus for adding small details like "yay" on the sail when getting fish and fading the daylight at the end of the game.

Pierrec says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:00pm

This sure isn't the best game I ever played, but it is totally a game, and a fun one. I wish I could make this at 13, congrats!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:12am

It's a great first entry! It's a real game with actual game mecanics. Fun to play.

JoshRespawns says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:31pm

Great Game!

JangoBrick says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:37pm

That game is great! Very nice for a first entry!

VividReality says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:06pm

This is a very cute WORKING game! I enjoyed playing it.

Jools64 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:34pm

This is a neat little game and an impressive effort for someone of your age. I liked the little transition to night at the end. Well done!

Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:33am

Congrats on your first LD ! Great work :)

Crazi456 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:37am

Nice little game! I got a 24!

Scam says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:24pm

Fits the theme and can be played through. This game is far from the worst I've seen here. This fits the theme and the controls work well and are intuitive. Visuals are standard programmer graphics, meaning they are representative enough. :)

If you ever decide to expand this, some kind of progression could be implemented: For example the guy comes fishing another day, but the fishes move in different patterns and there are more and more sharks until it's impossible to continue without catching a shark. And when you catch a shark, the game ends but your score is what you have collected.

I found one bug: I could not replay again without closing the game and then starting (the game got stuck on a black screen saying "press space to continue").

Fragsteel says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 6:51pm

Fun little game! Like a good Mario Party minigame. Felt really smooth. The basic control scheme fit really well without feeling like it had been done before.

lowcade says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 3:42am

Nice!
Simple and easy to play.
Continue with the good work!

travislucia says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 7:42pm

Not bad for a first entry.

udo says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 3:36pm

When it starts, I get this error:

MyCheckGLError() : gl.getError() : 1281 : INVALID_VALUE stack=MyGetStackTrace@http://andymar.99k.org/js/utils.webgl.js:194
MyCheckGLError@http://andymar.99k.org/js/utils.webgl.js:209
Love_Graphics_Step_Start@http://andymar.99k.org/js/love.graphics.js:250
MainStep@http://andymar.99k.org/js/main.js:401
MainRunAfterPreloadFinished@http://andymar.99k.org/js/main.js:547
PreLoadImageFinishOne@http://andymar.99k.org/js/main.js:487
MainOnLoad/img.onload@http://andymar.99k.org/js/main.js:470

But then the game starts anyway :) there's a black rectangle next to the boat though, that's probably where the error is.

This was more fun than most games I've played so far (including my own). Very nicely done!

Moosefly says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 2:22pm

Top score of 33 after three tries. The gameplay speed is nice and the game works (although I had to close the game and restart it to replay), I think it's a fine job for your first Ludum Dare entry!

Anssi@MooseflyGames

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]