Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Focus Shift

by ForeignGuyMike - 48 Hour Compo Entry

First LD ever. I didn't get a lot of time to work on it, so I had to rush hard. It was a fun. Definitely going to try again.

Controls:
Arrow keys to move/jump.
Z to select/shift.

Used:
LibGDX + Box2D
Magical 8bit Plug

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

There is now the post-compo version. Included are more levels categorized by difficulty, some slight graphical changes, and some more sfx. Sorry, still no good tunes.

Extra Controls:
Escape to go back.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#137Innovation3.75
#157Overall3.67
#230Fun3.45
#275Theme3.59
#496Graphics3.25
#681Mood2.87
#685Audio2.52
#782Humor2.13

Comments

DylanYasen says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:27am

great game!

Belvar says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:27am

Great game !! It was tough but I made it through the levels !
The sound could be better, but the gameplay concept is really interesting. The graphics looks good.

Garris says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:09pm

Well done. There's a solid sense of style to the graphics, and the levels are challenging and engaging.

ccglp says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:45pm

Love the dual gameplay concepts

seantheartist says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:50pm

Awesome game! Its hard, but do able and a cool puzzle/platformer mix. Made me think!

igwb says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:50pm

I like the concept. However, I find the game quite difficult due to the sliding effects.
I like the simple graphics style. Looks very clean.

pinion says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:54pm

Liked the gameplay and graphics.

geounknown says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:06pm

Nice Try !

mike73 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:47pm

Awesome!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:09pm

Cool concept. Love how you can trap yourself within a block :P

daandruff says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:09pm

Nice idea and it works well. Would like some nice background music to go with it though :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:14pm

Great game!. Frustrating, but in a good way. Graphics are simple but effective.

Daylon says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:21pm

I'd love you forever if you made this a full game! I had a ton of fun playing this!

microwerx says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:23pm

This game was so simple to learn and so hard to master....I enjoyed it immensely.

Newt_ says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:13pm

Awesome! I couldn't beat the second level, but I'm really bad at these types of games, so it's not your fault.

Neonian says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:46am

Not bad :D

lajos says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:54am

Very interesting gameplay.

Logan says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:12am

Solid little concept. Nicely done.

Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:53am

Great game. I'm a fan of your work. Keep it up!

Kalabasa says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:36pm

Good game! The graphics are nice too. You should make a version where the toggle happens every some time interval.

nonentheless says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:11pm

Amazing game, love the idea, also looks nice. Only sliding is a little annoying for me, hard to stay in place after jump.

pLaw says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:14pm

That's a really great entry. Challenging and well crafted. you really have to kind of switch your brain to get past some levels. I also like the look.

kristof says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:19pm

Great idea! The platforming mechanic is too hard for me though. I couldn't manage to stay on the small blocks in the second level while at the same time thinking about the perspective... ;)
Oh and nice graphics!

May 1, 2014 @ 9:18am

Incredible game, super concept. On a couple of levels I thought: "Wow, genius level design". And I managed to finish it, feels so good :D Maybe the inertia of the ball could be lower cause it can get frustrating really fast...

Exergy says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 6:09pm

Really fun game! Had me hooked for some time!

May 1, 2014 @ 10:48pm

Very cool concept! I wasn't very good at it but I loved playing it anyway! ^^

King_Mew says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:50pm

Great game! I love the Game Boy-esque style! The levels are challenging but not too hard. The jump sound is cute :P

Empyrealhell says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:19am

Awesome. I really liked the core mechanic and the level design was spot-on. The controls were a little slippery, and there was no background music. Really, those are the only drawbacks; it was a marvelous game.

javierecf says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:25am

This match really well with the theme. It is interesting and challenging. The draggin of the ball is too long doing the controls really hard to achieve simple things. The graphics are minimalistics and well done.

Wertle says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 4:00am

Great mechanic! I managed to get all the way to the end, though it took me awhile to map my brain to my fingers properly :) Well done!

May 2, 2014 @ 4:37pm

This was a very good game. I'v seen similar ones before, but this was just really entertaining. I love the oldschool feel too! The level designs were all good, as was most of the other aspects. Well done, or should I say, well played ;)

KevinWorkman says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:11pm

You might want to post a runnable jar instead of a .rar file

Joshua_Burr says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:49pm

One of my favourite entries so far!

TobiasW says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 10:11pm

I didn't get very far myself, but I watched Wertle play it much more easily than me - and I really love the concept and level design!

Three pointers how the game would've been more accessible for me:
- Being allowed to still jump if I pressed the shift buttons a few milliseconds before the jump key.
- No inertia.
- Using for example Space or X to jump - it's not really "up" in the opposite world. I can grasp the concept of jumping/falling in mirrored directions, but pressing up to go down is of a discrepancy.

FGM says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 11:20pm

@TobiasW

So far a lot of people have been pointing out the slipperiness of the player. I feel like infinite acceleration would have made the game different in an awkward way. For that reason, I kept the sliding effect in. It's just part of the game mechanic. As is the first point you mentioned.

The third point is something I didn't think about. I probably should have included the down button, but I simply never saw it from that perspective.

PIXEL^3 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:09am

This is really good, especially for your first time.
The gameplay is challenging, but not too challenging. I like it.

cheesepencil says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 9:54pm

I liked it, made me think for a couple of them. The guy seems a little "slippery" but it added to the challenge in a fun way.

Gap says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 3:03pm

Good game, fantastic graphics :)

Ragzouken says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 3:04pm

Really nice game! I found the controls a little difficult with the slide after you land, concept is awesome though

pikkpoiss says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 3:28am

Such a cool mechanic! The simple graphics are nicely misleading - the depth of this game ramps up a lot and I'm sure there's tons of additional stuff you could do. Great work.

Daiwen says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 2:37pm

The physics make the game frustrating. Even more so, because we see how the game mechanics is solid and could lead to a terrific game, I would definetly keep improving if I were you!

cageinabird says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 3:13pm

Oh wow, this game had my brain in knots. The slipperiness made it a wee bit too frustrating for my tastes, but the design is really good.

May 9, 2014 @ 9:39pm

Really clever level design. The movement could be better though, its too slippery.

GFM says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 10:35pm

Nice game! At first I didn't like that the controls were a little slippery but I got used to it while playing.
The graphics are cool, and kudos for the game boy based colors. :)

Now, the level design was awesome! This is were this game really shined. I wish there were more levels, though...

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]