Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Mia and the Mole

by Foofur - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Description:

Mia is running in the park. Some obstacles are getting in her way. They can only be removed by pressing buttons underground. You have to control a mole which can press those buttons, but you have to watch out for buried garbage, which you can't move through.

Controls:
arrow keys to move/dig

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#170Audio3.45
#277Humor2.93
#293Theme3.57
#374Mood3.19
#440Fun3.14
#603Overall3.14
#613Innovation2.97
#621Graphics3.06

Comments

Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:01am

Unfortunately could not get it to run as it said the version of Windows I have does not support the game (64X system)

Lrnk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:03am

Fun and heartwarming, with lovely music

lantto says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:08am

Nice! Lovely graphics and music. Unfortunately I think there was a bug that made me start immediately at level 10 without any instructions. I didn't realize it and just thought the game was really hard. When I finally beat it the intro text appeared and I started on level 1.

Anyway, really good job! The mood is a fiver on this one.

Christophe says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:12am

Starting at Lvl 10 was a bit extreme :D
Music fits well with the game. I like the idea of optimizing your moves to save Mia from deadly walls. So I guess that Mia is like the mall she can't see.

Foofur says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:20am

I'm sorry for the lvl10 bug! it sneaked in when I uploaded my edited version. It's fixed now!

okkolobr says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:37pm

Charming game ! Well done ! Really liked the quite music.

manabreak says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:55pm

Nice, smooth lil' game. I liked the interpretation of the theme. :)

Zolkren says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:58pm

Good game.

wespaugh says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:18pm

Great assets! I also liked how the first switch in the first level was placed, making an integrated tutorial.

KayZ says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:33pm

Liked the game. Even a similar idea as in my game, except it's the exact opposite (does this even makes sense?).

Agreon says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:46pm

Pretty hard, but amusing :)

phi says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:56pm

Nice mechanics, challenging levels, soothing music, I like.
But is Mia suicidal? That would actually add a lot more meaning to the game, now that I think about it...

Foofur says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:02pm

Hmm, made me think. I probably should've added a reason why she can't see the fences or something... Maybe she should've worn the sunglasses instead of the mole

Keehan12 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:56am

hahaha I loved it! music felt perfect and brought out a good mood. a nice little idea :) Art could do with some polishing but the game felt really nice

TeamInCharge says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:53pm

Smooth game! Art is nice. Plays like a charm. The music makes me superhappy. It works perfectly with the game. The piano being a bit out of tune actually works really well :D (I'm going to be sorry I mentioned that, you're going to play mine and hear that the 'pot is blaming the kettle that he sees black') :P yay Holland :D

mutilator says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 1:07pm

This is a very fun game, good graphics, good music. I like that its not super easy also it is a bit tricky. Good game overall!

Boodog says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 4:23am

Cool game and idea!

May 5, 2014 @ 6:35am

Nice game! Simple yet fun. The animation are great. Also, the music is good. Good Job. :)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]