Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

De Profundis

by nicolashognon - Jam Entry

De Profundis - by Fennec Project

Dive aboard a yellow submarine and explore the creepy underworld that lies beneath the surface. But beware not to ruffle the antique creatures living down there... Use the arrow keys to avoid troubled waters and the space bar to repel the monsters but look out! It doesn't work on ancient monsters hidden in the ocean's guts.

- Benjamin Levi (Code)
- Nicolas Hognon (Code) (nicolas.hognon.com)
- Made (GFX) (m4de.com)
- Iloe (GFX) (iloe.pro)

Made with Unity.

Teaser video : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4BEdYlu0mpY.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#32Graphics(Jam)4.47
#102Theme(Jam)3.71
#102Audio(Jam)3.72
#114Mood(Jam)3.70
#387Overall(Jam)3.18
#508Humor(Jam)2.22
#610Fun(Jam)2.46
#627Innovation(Jam)2.44

Comments

Naouak says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:16pm

I am still impressed by the graphics and the sound of your game. :)

nicolashognon says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:58pm

thanks

cochu says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:50pm

Very nice mood & wonderful graphics, well done !

tarraschk says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:32pm

You truly created an atmosphere, with both sounds and graphics.
A very impressive Ludum Dare entry.

metalchouchen says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:25am

Yes wonderful graphics!

Detocroix says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:43pm

Visually pleasing with nice mood. Direct link to web-player would be nicer than small link hunting on website :)

TheGameFather says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:46pm

The art is awesome! nice game play also, but sometimes I dont know how i died..

MrShortee says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:12pm

Beautiful.

javifugitivo says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:02pm

I love the intro of the game and its graphics. The control is difficult to dominate and the game is really hard, but it doesn't have to be bad, does it? Awesome job!

Potartz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:15pm

The game looks and sounds very nice. It plays alright, but I found the sub a little difficult to control.

lightsoda says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:32pm

Graphics are top notch, and so are the sound effects, fits really well.

Quite a few times I wasn't sure why I blew up.

Also, that intro looked really professional!

Well done!

nicolashognon says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:35pm

yes .... too inertia ... I know: (

nicolashognon says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:36pm

yes we are missing time to add more feedback, especially when you are to closed "big monster" and you while (certainly) die.

Zerkruemler says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:44pm

Very nice Sound and Graphics. The gameplay is however hard to understand. Some better feedback why energy is lost would be nice.

nicolashognon says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:21pm

thanks for the feedback. yes we know the game miss some visual feedbacks.

TheGreenTie says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:02pm

I don't feel like the controls responded too well for me, but God, I loved the art on this game, and I see you used some interesting programmer art too! Good job guys!

vexille says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:57pm

Gorgeous graphics and excellent sound design! It's hard to understand the yellow bar, though. It depletes when you use the sonar, when you get hit but also depletes over time, so that was kinda weird.

Also I think I noticed a small but that the sonar doesn't push the monsters away, rather it just makes them change direction. So if you accidently hit one that was moving away from you, it will move towards you.

nicolashognon says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:21am

yes you are right for the sonar :(

Mase says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:17pm

Lovely background art. Gameplay feels kind of odd... I didn't understand why the bar dropped so quickly sometimes, or what the bubbles were for. Also... maybe there's not enough interaction between the background and the submarine... it feels kind of disconnected. I wish the cool ancient monsters were more visible somehow; maybe they could be highlighted more clearly when the player is destroyed.

I won after a few tries. It's a little fast paced for something with such nice visuals.

MrShoestore says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:32am

great looking game. the submarine kinda reminded me of the mighty boosh for some reason. might just be it's animation. i like it!

Jeffalisk says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:09am

Really nice graphics. Took a while to figure out I was meant to be collecting the yellow dots, though - mechanics weren't as clear as they could have been.

Very impressive entry overall.

byExclusive says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:11am

Nice game!!!!

loxo says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:57pm

Your awesome graphics and audio creates a great atmosphere. The game is really fun to play and feels very polished. Sadly it's so short. I had to play it again after reaching the bottom of the sea. Would like to see more levels, maybe randomly generated. Definitely the best game I played so far.

nicolashognon says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 8:25pm

thank you loxo ... we'll try to work on a more complet/polished version soon.

SimianLogic says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 4:05am

Very impressive sound and graphics, but I found the gameplay pretty confusing. Death seemed pretty random--I guess the guys in the background kill you? Would be good to have some sort of hit feedback.

csanyk says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 8:57pm

The die in 3 seconds no matter what you do game. Lol.

Good ping sound! Very authentic!

jerombd says ...
May 27, 2014 @ 3:30pm

Really amazing graphics: the background art, the creatures (and Cthulhu-like monsters)... but the game is too short & the gameplay is not so great (lack of feedback especially).

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]