Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Holy Diver

by stephan_h - Jam Entry

"One Grail is not enough."

Dive for all the grails and bring them back to Camelot. Don't let yourself get bitten by any shark. And don't listen to the old man.

WASD or Arrow Keys for Movement.
Space Key for Jumping.
Or use a Gamepad with Left Control Stick and 'A'.

The game is pretty hard and has only this one level. But that's part of the design.

We were a team of three and hope that you have as much fun playing this as we had building this.

Please post your points in the comments.

***** UPDATE *****
There is now a version of the game with improvements made after the Jam. http://www.craftinglegends.com/games/holy-diver/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#95Humor(Jam)3.50
#240Audio(Jam)3.35
#260Theme(Jam)3.38
#291Graphics(Jam)3.58
#321Fun(Jam)3.08
#381Overall(Jam)3.19
#442Mood(Jam)2.95
#494Innovation(Jam)2.72
#1359Coolness48%

Comments

manabreak says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:35am

Got 600 points... Baaah! Nice work there, it's a pretty difficult game though. The sounds were nice and graphics looked good. :)

tankete says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:37am

Good controls. Nice graphics. I had fun. Well done!

whendricso says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:39am

Fun game!

eriksundqvist says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:50am

Fluid controls and solid graphics. Nice background audio. A bit difficult tho.

zillix says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:00am

really fun idea! it controls really well. there are sure a lot of sharks in that cove :)

Tweak says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:09am

My best was 1400 points! I loved the subtle yet noticeable darkening of the screen as you go deeper into the water. Great job!

petey123567 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:12am

For some reason this remind me a little bit of monty python animations. Pretty neat!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:00am

Ok, where's the idea from? I mean the story.

stephan_h says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:16am

The idea for the story? That just.. developed.
The diving mechanic was first. Then one of us had the song "Holy Diver" from DIO in mind. When I painted the treasure graphic and it looked like a grail, it somehow came together as a stranded Parzival character diving for holy grails.
There were of course many more treasures, enemies etc. planned initially.

Diptoman says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:54am

The movement of the character was awkward. Funny. The control could have been a bit solid, with loose movement like that I found it hard to avoid the sharks.

mir007 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:57am

Nice work! You can make the bearded guy walk on water..

dsoft20 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 8:58am

Nice & fun game, my max score was 2600!

Lerc says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:11am

2800 Points. Hard going. Nice to see it keeping record of your best score.

Simon@LD says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:16am

A simple game, but one that is really well executed. Very good graphic and sound design. I love the comments of the old man, they really help setting the mood :)

teambrookvale says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:23am

Solid game! Fun and cool presentation. Well done!

JoshOS says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:37pm

Bah; that's three times in a row I die on 3,000 points :P
Your asking score of 5k's quite hard ;)

Sounds are great, lovely little death-riff.
The old man instantly gave this game 10% higher score ;P

I found the Sharks to be a little too random in behaviour; as a player you couldn't manipulate them at all (for example, I'd want the sharks to follow me around just a little so I can play a chase kind of game with them :P

I like the way as your score increases the grails get deeper and thus harder to reach, nice little touch!

GamerTaters says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:34pm

I like it. love how deep in can go in the ocean as well as the sound when i die. good game overall had lots of fun and some laughs.

Nocturnal says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:30pm

Awesome game! Love the graphics and sound effects.

john_conder9 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:16am

3800 score! This is hard :( That being said, it's absolutely fantastic in every way! It feels very rewarding to bring the grails up, the old man is comedic gold and helps set the mood while serving as a tension breaker after a deep dive.

The mechanics are simple but utilized very well and the assets look and sound great. This is a really good entry!

VictoryGarden says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 8:06pm

2,000 points! The swimming controls were really good, but the ones on land were a bit too slidy in the horizontal axis (seems like the same controls with a vertical vs. horizontal sprite orientation?). In general, I didn't keep trying all the way to the 5,000 since I realized the grails respawned in the upper area (with fewer sharks), which lowered the challenge pretty significantly. The deep underwater effect was good--the first time I died was down there, and I was pretty startled by the, uh, amount of aquatic wildlife covering the screen.

Your sound samples were also quite nice, but the death SFX seemed both inappropriately loud and a strange choice of instrumentation.

Nice graphics and the unusually clean underwater movement makes this a solid entry overall.

petrih says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 12:01pm

Solid game maybe just a little bit too difficult for the first time.

whilefun says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 3:23am

Pretty funny use of the theme. The graphics and animations and sounds were all pretty great. I managed to beat the level! :) I would consider making the shark hit boxes a bit smaller, as sometimes I died but it didn't look like I actually hit them. Good entry. :)

mrbungle says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 10:59am

As you've noted yourselves, pretty darn hard but I really like the graphics and sound. I think that, while the fluid movement has a nice 'feel', it makes it difficult to effectively avoid the sharks.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]