Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

LD29

by smbe19 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A little game created in about 10 hours. As I'm not very gifted in creating artwork the graphic style is very minimalistic. And yeah, I'm also not very creative in finding a name ;)

How to play:
Navigate the little square through the maze (a cellar beneath the surface). To navigate, use on of the following:
- Left mouse button (drag to move, direction is relative to where you clicked)
- Right mouse button (drag to move, direction is relative to square)
- Arrow keys

If you get stuck there will be a little line indicating the direction of the destination after a while.

There are 17 randomly generated levels. Be sure to check out the ending.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#971Overall2.74
#1040Fun2.41
#1048Humor1.53
#1072Audio1.18
#1153Innovation2.15
#1178Mood1.97
#1208Graphics1.92
#1216Theme1.95

Comments

SlamBlasta says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:34am

It has potential. I was confused at first by what colors were walls and what was not (black is usually used as a background color, not foreground). Are the levels generated randomly?

ZQMony says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:35am

A very clever way to move.

smbe19 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:44am

Yes, the levels are generated randomly.
During developement I didn't have any problems with the colors, but now as I play it again it's sometimes really confusing...

porousnapkin says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:49am

Cool idea. Would be neat with lock and key mechanics. There's an article describing how you might program something like that with randomly generated levels here: http://www.roguebasin.com/index.php?title=Creating_Measurably_%22Fun%22_Maps

smbe19 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:51am

Anyone knows why my project won't compile with GWT? It's done with libgdx, so it should work...

smbe19 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:59am

@porousnapkin: thank you for the link, sounds interesting. If I'll work sometimes on this project again I'll consider it.

rincewind_cz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:21am

Pretty simple and minimal but I actually liked it. Good job

madmaw says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:21am

Android build always appreciated

Sanguine says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:44pm

Pretty cool there's an android build! It's a pretty minimalistic game, but there's definitely tons of stuff that can still be added.

LewisW says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:14pm

Its a decent start of something... I dunno, maybe it just needed more to it. Finding the exit isn't really engaging enough to me.

Randomly generated levels is nice though.

mess110 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:27pm

that is a good foundation for a good game. the colors were a bit confusing. I was expecting the wall to be black

Caridorc says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:28pm

This is quite minimalistic but I enjoyed going through the first 8 levels (the 9th is way too big!). (And as SlamBlasta said it's weird to walk on the black)

ryebread761 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:32pm

Good game, could use some sfx.

ccglp says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:34pm

Minimalistic like my game, and the Android controls are quite good, congratulations!

d_0o_d says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:44pm

randomwalk()
This was me until I figured out there is a compass. Took me about 14 minutes, because the last level was really really hard for me. I like it though.

GagaPete says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:09pm

Played the game for ten minutes. Had to abort at level 13, the game gets boring very fast. Some deeper gameplay, like the key and door thing and less dumb searching would be great.
But I like the color choice, though I try to walk on the walls at the beginning of every stage.

Boodog says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:38am

Nice job! When I first started I thought that the black were the walls, but I guess not. Good job :)

Crazi456 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:44am

Very nice simple game! Good job!

Jezzamon says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:34am

As people have said, I was a little confused by which color was a wall or not. I think if the goal and start squares were darker, it would've been more obvious that you could walk on dark squares.

Good job on the random level generation though, because it near the end it seemed to always generate level where I could almost get the end, and then I got stuck.

I think if you player could move faster the game would be a little nicer.

The controls worked pretty well on my touchscreen PC!

KevinWorkman says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:08am

Like others said, this game has potential but it currently lacks the depth required to keep people engaged for longer than a few minutes. Nice work for 10 hours though!

SimianLogic says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 4:10am

Good start to maze generation, but currently very simple. Would also like keyboad controls unless you were planning it for mobile. Needs something else going on....

csanyk says ...
May 15, 2014 @ 1:36am

Simply amazing.

kivifreak says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 9:28am

Cool slick and small game, the way we like it in ludum dare ^^

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]