Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beneath The Night Sky

by puckers - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hello :)

First LD woop!

Sorry about the format - I could not get it to run off dropbox but the .rar contains the .html and .unity3d so just grab that and it should be sweet (I hope).

WSAD to move and SPACE to plant a seed. Click to start / restart.

This is a game about a big giant (a rectangle) with a passion for botany. The giant will stop and admire the flowers in your garden but they will only keep him busy for so long! So get planting!

The seed drop is random so might be too hard sometimes. It's best to have a few tries ho ho.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#475Innovation3.17
#595Audio2.69
#817Graphics2.76
#980Theme2.65
#989Overall2.72
#1000Fun2.47
#1851Coolness32%

Comments

Zer0XoL says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:16am

The Web link is a rar file? Im on linux. :P

shuanDang says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:16am

Wow. That giant's stomp is visceral!! I liked planting seeds but the giant seems too powerful

CastEclipse says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:17am

Fun game although the movement had me confused in the beginning because you couldn't really tell if you were moving or not. But like the idea of planting seeds to delay your death by the giant :D Please rate my game! http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-29/?action=preview&uid=34910

TheColorMan says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:35pm

I like the plants' growing animations.

Keehan12 says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:46am

a backdrop would be nice, it would make it easier to see where you are going. some art working would be improving. has a good concept but could use some extra features! I did enjoy the effort though as well as the audio!

SoupWithBits says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:56am

I think the giant comes way too quickly. Could get no where near your mad skills in that screenshot! But awesome concept, love it when things grow/evolve in games!

kirbytails7 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 3:24am

I couldn't plant more than about seven plants before the giant caught up. Nice-looking plants, though.

Ragzouken says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 4:16pm

Couldn't really plant much at all before the giant comes, interesting idea though

Cambrian_Man says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 2:58pm

I love the colors and the mood... I got pretty confused, though. I got a few seeds, then nothing and I couldn't really tell if I was running or not.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]