Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Blind Path

by Gameness Monster - Jam Entry

In this game you try to navigare a metalic object (eg. ball) using a magnet. The thing is you can't see the object or the maze around it. You have to figure out the correct path and move the object on before the time runs out. The only thing you can see, is the mark of the object on the surface that covers the maze. The mark is visible only when the object is attached to the magnet. Also you can notice the magnet react to the object.

Of course you have to be carefull not to move the magnet too fast because you will drop the object in the way and you will have to grab it again.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#401Innovation(Jam)2.95
#477Theme(Jam)2.95
#478Audio(Jam)2.79
#637Humor(Jam)1.71
#638Overall(Jam)2.70
#716Mood(Jam)2.06
#717Graphics(Jam)2.22
#725Fun(Jam)2.05
#1823Coolness33%

Comments

Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:42pm

Cool concept. It will be a fun phone game. Maybe have the wind blow some sand and give people a little snapshot of what the walls look like.

Zarkith says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:50pm

Reminds me of an old board game I used to have, can't remember its name though. Nice take on the theme, and I'm really diggin' the music too. (I'm a sucker for saxophones :P)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:19pm

Thanks guys for the feedback.
Actually the initial idea was about a phone game.
I think the tune was catchy too. I loved it.

Garris says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:37am

Neat idea. I found it a little frustrating at times, but I liked the music, and the graphics were nice.

SmilingCat says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 2:33pm

site seems to be down.

May 2, 2014 @ 7:34pm

It works fine to us! Could you check again please?

ALobker says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:36pm

The controls were kind of wonky from time to time, but overall a nice game.

CeriseGhost says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:17am

This was an interesting idea and quite fun to play. The thing I didn't like was that you have no idea where the object is the first time you play each level. This meant that you had to play each level twice.. Well I did anyway. It may have just been that I wasn't very good at the game :P

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]