Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Oh S**T! A Shark!

by darkflamejam - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This entry was created whilst supervising students the of Southampton Solent University participating.

Approx 13 hours was used to make this, created using cocos2dx v2.1.5 (C++)


Goal
Keep at least half the swimmers alive for as long as possible by keeping the shark on the island.

Controls
You control the island! Not the shark... I seem to be good natured, maybe in the future I'll make you control the shark!

Android: Move the island by tilting the device

Windows: Use the arrow keys to simulate the accelerometer

Should have improved the controls and balancing.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#295Humor2.88
#433Innovation3.24
#709Fun2.85
#754Overall2.97
#859Graphics2.68
#871Mood2.64
#900Theme2.82
#916Audio1.94

Comments

Greg says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 7:32pm

Cool game, sometimes I can't get more than 1 keypress to be registered, but it's fun still

mess110 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:22am

cool game. next time can I play the shark?

Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:47am

Funny that you chose to be the island instead of the shark for example, intresting concept.

madmaw says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:14am

Good use of the accelerometer on Android

Christophe says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:33am

Yep The island not the shark, I was wondering why the shark was not responding... I wanted to eat everybody !

Jools64 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:50pm

Fun little game, good idea but could do with a few more game-play elements to keep it interesting. Good job!

NoorStudios says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:16pm

Cool idea, response felt a little slow on android.

hexabeast says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:56pm

The accelerometer control with Android is really fun!

GagaPete says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:16pm

Simple but fun gameplay. Looking forward to the shark control thing, I'd love to play a 1on1 multiplayer match. :)

KevinWorkman says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:44am

Interesting idea, although it didn't have a lot of gameplay elements in it. I would check out an expanded version of this!

Zolkren says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:06pm

Cool idea and a nice game.

Marcellus says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:31am

Cool game, I don't own an android thingy but it seems to be even funnier.

darkflamejam says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:12pm

Thanks for the feedback!
I hadn't thought about a 1on1 match or controlling the shark! I'll implement some of your requests and release on google play when things calm down (along with some proper artwork!).

Nichii says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:18pm

It's a simple but a cool game.

Boodog says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 2:28pm

Good job but a bit unresponsive

DarkMaster says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:01pm

Nice idea! :D

tenpn says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 7:16am

Surprisingly fun game, moving a island underneath a shark...

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]