Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Soul Catchers

by hirngespinst - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are the Lord of Darkness and you need fresh souls. Catch the pilgrims before they reach the church and go to heaven. Unfortunately I came late to the party and basically had around 12 hours for this. So expect 0 polish and also only one level - more were planned. Hope this is some fun anyway.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#685Audio2.52
#782Humor2.13
#899Mood2.60
#899Innovation2.60
#927Theme2.76
#1111Overall2.54
#1127Fun2.24
#1131Graphics2.19
#1460Coolness46%

Comments

Robber says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 11:42am

nice experiment! i would skip the installer next time if you can, 'web' is usually for games that can be played online directly

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:07pm

Hi. Not played as web link just goes to a .exe file - should be playing in browser to be a Web link...

Knowledge says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:14pm

It's rellative good but i can't play again.

hirngespinst says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 4:01pm

okay sorry, I misunderstood how the web link was meant - first LD this.
Will remove it to avoid confusion.

Nichii says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:28am

I really loved the audio of this game, it feels super creepy :D

romandtom says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 10:01pm

Hey man, why won't you share a single .exe file (not an installation) way more people including me, would like to play it~

Dreii says ...
May 8, 2014 @ 5:20am

nice job man, Liked the audio overlapping like that, nice effect. Next time you might want to compile as a pure exe, with game maker you can do that when hitting the compile button and saving it, theres a drop down menu to save it as single run executeble. That will get much more people wanting to play! :)

goerp says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 11:18am

12 hours, first Ludum Dare, good job.
I like the idea and actually think the graphics are nice. If the letters would have been the same style as the rest I think it would have been better.

I almost didn't because I had to install. If you find a way to avoid that I think you can have more people playing.
You could change that on your game now without breaking the rules, I think.

hirngespinst says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 9:04pm

thanks for all the feedback - I changed the installer version to a zipped one now. Did work when I tried it - please report if there are any issues.

Jason Lay says ...
May 13, 2014 @ 7:24pm

Man the audio was creepy as hell. This was fun to play, but not sure about replayability.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]