Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Mind Therapy

by Detective Pixel - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Sometimes your mind is your greatest enemy.

Use your weight to solve puzzles as you explore through your mind.
______________________________________________________

I can't believe I finished this. I created this for the LD48, and Game Maker Community Jams. It was hard, but I am glad I did it.

I used Circuli to make the music for the game.
http://www.earslap.com/projectslab/circuli

-Detective Pixel

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#42Mood4.02
#65Overall3.90
#78Audio3.70
#181Fun3.53
#211Graphics3.76
#229Innovation3.55
#324Theme3.53
#326Humor2.81
#1359Coolness48%

Comments

kogyblack says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:25am

Awesome!
Great game you did here!

burgerdare says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:07am

impressive, very well done. I love the puzzle design and how well it fits the narrative.

jrap says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:24am

Thoroughly well designed, elegant to look at and and all round smashing entry. You should be very proud.

alshirah says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:00am

Super great. But I got stuck in some level :)

goerp says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:07pm

Nice mood, great minimal graphics. only a few pixels were enough to show the character eating and doing push ups. Nice choice of colors.
The music was therapeutic too :)

Tanner says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:33pm

Haha, that was fun! :)

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:19pm

Hi. I liked the press-ups to slim. I still couldn't fit through, or restart the exercise tho'... Maybe the text could be cut down or skippable ?

gigitrix says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:21pm

Interesting weight mechanics :)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:57pm

@Mr excessive. Thanks. What do you mean by couldn't fit through? And if you press the space button you can skip the text.

Softwave says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:00pm

Fantastic. Wonderful graphics, intriguing idea, just really top-notch.

Jod says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:08pm

Okay, that was impressive. I mean, really impressive. What starts out as what seems like a simple puzzle-game becomes something much more. Way to nail the theme right on the head!

Without giving any spoilers: I feel that the way the narrative is timed is just perfect. It pulls you with it just in time to prevent boredom. Also, starting from what seems like an ordered room, going through more chaotic and patchy rooms and finally ending to something that gives a bright ray of hope is very, very touching.

Well done.

Korwegian says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 2:39am

Who was that therapist's teacher? Hannibal Lecter?

Oye Beto says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:06am

Good: I like the minimalistic art and particle effects you made.
Bad: Text takes too long and level design feels tiring.

lonewookie says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:27pm

Great narrative/message. The gameplay was also a lot of fun! Great puzzle mechanics.

Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:09pm

I finish the game, it is nice . but I would if eating and exercising run in a single click . "may be because I am lazy "

fserb says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:30pm

Great job! :)

Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:45pm

great game really enjoyed playing!

MaesK says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 9:53pm

Awesome work, great combination of mood, graphics and sound. Sprites are so simple yet so nicely animated. Pacing and puzzles both have a good design out of a clear concept.

Somehow I ended doing push-ups long before I was told I could :D

BadgerPriest says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 12:27am

Simply lovely.

PapyGaragos says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:53pm

Nice game, feels very polished and have a impressive amount of content.
The mechanic is nice but switching from thin to fat (and vice versa) break the rythme of the puzzle

Good job anyway

SaintHeiser says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 5:50pm

Very good but what about "Beneath the Surface"?
Like your feature with weight (sport&eating)
Puzzles are well but pretty simple for me.

May 1, 2014 @ 8:30pm

@SaintHeiser. The "Beneath the Surface" was about your mind. Under all the skin, is something that is waging war against . you. You way of thinking. Thanks for playing!

tenpn says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:22pm

Really nice idea. Loved the theme, and the way the core mechanic fed into that.

petey123567 says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:50am

Superfun! The arrow keys did cause the page to scroll sometimes :\

Raiyumi says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 7:53am

I loved it. Very minimal and polished.

Tuism says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:32am

Wow! Was this game maker? Glad you got the web build going cos I ALWAYS struggle with game maker's web build :/

And it was an awesome game, great puzzles and great juice and ambience and very thought provoking.

One gripe would be the sheer repetitiveness of the mechanic makes it unfun to play. Yeah I get that that it's social commentary though, so... Art!

Well done!

Xaychru04 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:03pm

Awesome game, I loved the story, and the puzzles were great. Really nice mood too! The keys z and x were a bit confusing, maybe just one key to eat/do some exercise depending of if you're fat or not would have been better, but anyway, I enjoyed the game a lot! :)

MintArcade says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 3:51pm

Interesting! Nice puzzle game. Love the ending.

Thorig says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 7:27pm

Love the mechanics of this game. Well done!

koe415 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 11:17pm

My personal favorite entry so far. Simplistic visuals work well in the game's favor and the audio work is fantastic for setting the mood. Narrative was great but didn't have me hooked initially. Loved that the gameplay of bulking up and getting skinny directly fed into the narration. Once that came to light, you had me to the end. Lovely game. Great work.

May 6, 2014 @ 2:36am

The theme and mechanics were truly new and surprising -- something I truly appreciated about this game.

There's a lot of content here, and it's very well presented. I would have liked a slightly sharper difficulty curve, personally, but the curve as it stands is still great.

Very well done!

SenorDiablo says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 7:13pm

loved the soundtrack.loved the puzzles. loved the length! Impressively long but not boring:)

Anoarith says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 11:02pm

Awesome work ! Congratulations :) !

WhiteWolf93 says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 12:09am

Brilliant! Hard to think it was made in 48h, another game that should be in steam or something, now I think my game is a bit terrible :/, Well done ;)

mcapraro says ...
May 9, 2014 @ 6:00am

wow, one of my favorites so far, well done! i really like the things you have to do to get skinny or fat - nice interactions

May 11, 2014 @ 2:33am

Really unique and well-designed entry. Lovely ambient soundtrack. The only gripe I have is that the text is painfully slow, and it doesn't seem like there's a way to speed it up.

monsterkillu says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 12:24pm

Very nice game. I liked the thoughts. Kind of similar to my own thoughts. Interesting game too...

Striwx says ...
May 14, 2014 @ 4:05pm

Very cool mood, story and mecanics !!

jerombd says ...
May 27, 2014 @ 4:00pm

Touching entry! The weaker point is the sound fx.

Jun 12, 2014 @ 2:32pm

This game totally guessed my past. By the way i made a video of the game here:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MaWTyEKd_bU&feature=youtu.be

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]