Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Cave Invasion (Text-based)

by Skencer - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A warrior fights his way through a cave. Can he get out alive? /******* Controls *******/ Type in single words to perform actions. remember "help" is your friend. Apologies to those wishing for a in-browser, I only know how to make it a downloadable executable. :(

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#558Fun3.00
#693Overall3.05
#813Theme2.95
#852Mood2.65
#990Graphics2.50
#1158Innovation2.14
#1547Coolness45%

Comments

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:46am

There is a serious lack of text-based games here! I had so much fun playing this! I think the only thing I could suggest would be to add a list of possible actions to every input screen (like a line above the input or something). I know it's not traditional for these types of games, but it would certainly speed up the gameplay (I had to type "help" almost every time I wanted to do something. At least that command was there!).

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:58am

it would have been great also if you could abriviate the actions. typing fight/flame/attack/heal for the 100th time is a little annoying - f f a h would be more user friendly. :)

tiffi says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:59am

Really cool text-based-game. Totally enjoyed it AND the help command was my best friend!

Crefossus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:09am

This is really well balanced overall and has a great tutorial area! Getting to the recommended level was a little long for the 2nd cave level.

omaha says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:11am

Link says web, but I'm landing on a google share for a .exe.

Is there a web build? *crosses fingers*

mashedtatoes says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:24am

I think he just went with the default field when submitting.

Skencer says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:38am

Yeah sorry it said required field and this is my first time on Ludum Dare so I just put it in there. I put a comment to it in the description so as not to confuse anyone else. sorry omaha.

Nep says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:00am

I stare at my computer monitor all the time and it never dances.

kevincorrigan says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:09am

Nice game, it closed on me while i was fighting slims, but it was fun.

jtpup0 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:30am

needs an actions list, but other than that enjoyable and interesting

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:11am

I love txt games!

Almost says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:39am

You're required to have at least one link for the game, but you can change the name from Web to Windows (or anything). Changing the name of the link should be fine to do even now.

Almost says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:51am

I didn't realize that "help" was a thing until I read it here, it would be nice to say it or a list of valid commands
when I type an incorrect command.

I also discovered that I can repeat actions by pressing up and enter (probably a quirk of the fact that it runs in a terminal) which is super convenient

It lists me as healing for more than the amount that I am hurt and enemies taking more damage than they have health remaining.

It also says that fight / attack are not commands in the game instead of saying "I can't do that right now" if I just try to do them at the wrong time.

Skencer says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:31pm

@Almost:
Firstly thank you for the feedback. I was hoping that saying "if you're confused ask for help" at the beginning would show people the help command, but I can see that it's a bit too vague.
for the healing thing, I could change it to ammount healed as opposed to ammount able to heal I had decided not to but may actually change that.
Lastly for the fight/attack thing. it should say that they aren't commands inside of combat/cave as opposed to in the game.
Are these things considered bug fixes that I can change even now?

Ellian says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:25pm

Can't run the game, it says I'm missing MSVCP110.dll :(

Skencer says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:25pm

yeah sorry about that Ellian. That happens on occasion but after looking up a lot of different things I can't find any way to fix that in the program. It's really unfortunate.

Nichii says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 10:23am

This is a cool text-based game. I loved the dialogue XD

May 2, 2014 @ 6:47pm

Cool idea, however the mood setup in the first part of the game is not really reflected in the combat of the game. I do however like the way you handled the mechanics of combat. Only the continue function was not really explained.

Boodog says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 4:21am

Nice! I haven't seen many text-based games lately!

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]