Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Beneath The Surface

by Kaoin - 48 Hour Compo Entry

**WEB PLAYING FIX**
*IF PLAYING ON WEB AND MENU IS UNCLICKABLE RE-SIZE THE WINDOW AFTER IT LOADS AND IT WILL WORK*

*LOOKS BEST WITH HUD, BE SURE TO CLICK THE [>] BUTTON AT THE TOP LEFT IN GAME*
////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

Beneath The Surface

Is a (highly unfinished) puzzle/platformer game that involves discovering words to solve each level. Each level(1 and a half to be exact) takes you deeper down the surface. On the way you will encounter challenging puzzles, traps, dead ends and hidden treasure (All coming soon!). A correct word will be required to complete each level. Subtle hints are provided that may help you detect the correct word or correct route to take.

////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
Controls:

Mouse - Left Click
Keyboard - W S A D or Arrow Keys
////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

This is my first ever Ludum dare entry and the first time using Unity and all the tools listed to make a 2D game. I couldn't implement a lot of puzzle game mechanics due to time constraints and lots of learning but I learnt a lot. I spent a larger portion of time with the menus and animations that I should of spent on the game mechanics but they turned out well. I wasn't going to submit this but I'm happy to participate, please tell me what you think.

Tools:
-Unity3D
-C#
-LOTS of Unity tutorials
-Scaffolding Unity
-Otomata
-sfxr

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#282Audio3.20
#606Humor2.37
#654Graphics3.00
#713Innovation2.85
#836Mood2.67
#1060Overall2.63
#1102Fun2.31
#1179Theme2.12
#1409Coolness47%

Comments

Suese says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:01am

Crashed when I click 'next'

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:15pm

Hey well done for entering. Good job on look and feel of graphics and control. The camera is a bit hyperactive, might need some damping or hysteresis circle of no movement IYSWIM.

Kaoin says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:55pm

Hey all thanks for playing! I have added new links to hopefully fix the crash! The camera is pretty hyperactive it does have smoothing but the variable was just set too high :)

Lrnk says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:57pm

Great look and feel. Love the in-game apologies! Haha. The start of something good.

Jools64 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:59pm

The menus were really nice and the little bit of game-play was neat, there just wasn't really very much of it. It's a shame you weren't able to finish it, I hope you keep working on it though. The idea seems really cool. Good work!

Snoother says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:00pm

The music gave it a nice mood that fitted the minimalist, digital graphic style. Definitely way too short (!) but you admitted that and intend to expand it, so that really isn't much of a problem. The foundations are there, and it looks promising.

Stepperz says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:23pm

I like the idea keep it up!!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:48pm

Haha, great stuff. Wish you had more time to finish it off, was starting to get into it. Loved the messages inside.

madalaski says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 7:50pm

Good game with some beautiful UI. Obviously not a lot of content but I think we all know the hassles of the jump key getting broken. =D

Kaoin says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:30pm

Thanks for the comments! I decided to add those messages inside 10 mins before submitting after noticing there was a humor criteria, I knew some things were broken but I wanted to submit it anyway and get a few laughs. ^_^
Glad you all enjoyed the (albeit short) experience.
I will continue developing my game to better present the game mechanics!

ElStevo says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 4:51pm

Good first game ! Continue your hard work !

wdebowicz says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:01pm

I like the idea!

SimianLogic says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 4:13am

Physics feel a bit floaty, but it's a good start to a platformer.

May 17, 2014 @ 10:12am

Like the concept. The controls were a bit on the floaty side. The game has a nice color pallet.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]