Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Water Miner

by elefantopia - Jam Entry

A Zen game about digging and surviving hunger.
Dig and it saps water, walk and it saps food.
Water comes from trees, food comes from earth in the form of chicken legs.
If you gather 1,000,000 pink diamonds, you get something special.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#66Graphics(Jam)4.31
#112Humor(Jam)3.38
#237Overall(Jam)3.41
#295Innovation(Jam)3.18
#317Audio(Jam)3.18
#321Mood(Jam)3.14
#334Theme(Jam)3.24
#341Fun(Jam)3.04

Comments

oatsbarley says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:12pm

Just so you know, there aren't any links to builds/players. Makes it tough to vote for! ;)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:10pm

Haha yes you forgot something ^^ (but it already looks great)

elefantopia says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:33pm

Haha thanks guys, I missed this bit: (Don't forget the http://)

Softwave says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:08pm

I love this. I especially love the graphics and the whole "aesthetic", the game has. And the drilling/morphable terrain thing is rad.

DustyStylus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:13pm

Hehe, curious! Beautiful graphics and nice aesthetic, as mentioned. I got stuck in a big hole... went a bit crazy with the digging. @__@

FyberOptic says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:14pm

The graphics are gorgeous, and I really like the destructible terrain. Nice work!

Xangotrick66 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:14pm

Loved them sound effects, and the graphics are very nice!

longshorts says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:18pm

The graphics are gorgeous, and the mining mechanic is nice and simple (although it took me a little while to figure out how to get food). However what really sold this to me was the sound effects, which sounds like they were all done with your voice! Max humor rating!

gwa says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:21pm

Wow it looks great!

ccglp says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:25pm

Sound effects so fucking wonderful xD

pawegio says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:44pm

Looks really good! Love this hexagon grass. Hey, I would love to make such graphics, respect. :)

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:37pm

Like said our friend Jacques - you forgot (again) something - I have passed through the ground. In fact I didn't know this is possible to generate a ground like this with unity. It's a great concept... but with many bugs ++

Dominator_101 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:05pm

Those sound effects are awesome!

Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:33am

Pretty funny sound effects. Graphics looked great!

largerhinde says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:37am

Sweet game! From the sounds (especially "bling, bling")to the beautiful graphics (even as you're breaking the environment) to the easy mining control. Awesomeness!

ioboi says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:55pm

Wow, nice game!
The art style is beautiful :)

Sim00n says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 3:27am

Wow a lot of work put into this. Digging underground is trippy but I like it. This game needs some purpose though. Overall a good job.

Jonochrome says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 9:02am

*HOFF CHOMP chomp chomp*

May 1, 2014 @ 3:28am

"Take that, Tree!" Very fun to dig and try to get out.

kirbytails7 says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:29am

Very pretty, and it's fun to be able to dig so fast. I did notice a bug where you can stand close enough to a wall and dig at it without destroying it, so you can get lots of food and gems very easily.

kmakai says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 3:37am

Great job, amazing what can get done in so little time!

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:17am

Enjoyable but not challenging.

BMacIntosh says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 4:52am

This is great! It didn't grab my mouse, though, which made it a bit annoying to play.

blockbot says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 1:21pm

The art is really nice.

Yword says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:45pm

Very cool idea and implementation! Well done!

May 3, 2014 @ 7:20pm

Awesome game. But the fps is very low, could be just an internet problem. But its is amazing, beautiful and a clever concept

mrexcessive says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 8:07pm

Hi. Interesting idea. Like the detail texture and the sounds. Made a huge tunnel!

MintArcade says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:18pm

Very enjoyable. Nice deformation algorithm. Very funny audio - like it very much.

Rick Hoppmann says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:29pm

Unity webplayer does not work on Linux OS.
Feel free to drop me a tweet @tinyworlds (or award me a trophy here if you haven't Twitter) if you publish this to Linux ;)

May 6, 2014 @ 9:48pm

Incredible graphics and mood! I'm sure it' a feat of engineering too, I'm not even smart enough to understand how you did it. Drilling is absolutely responsive and very fun to do!

csanyk says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 12:51am

Graphics are really beautiful. Sound effects don't really fit, but are humorous I guess. Not too much gameplay, though. The deformable ground is very cool.

Ragzouken says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 3:29pm

The graphics are awesome, love the mosaic effect!

jsmars says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 3:29pm

Nice job really good looking game :)

pikkpoiss says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 5:39am

Wow, what a gorgeous game. I really dug the texture work and it looks way more polished than it should be given the short time frame. The digging seemed cool, unfortunately it ran relatively choppily on a Mac Air (underpowered, I know) so it was tough to play. Loved the sound effects though :)

May 10, 2014 @ 6:39am

Graphics and tech are nice. Something to really build on post compo. Sound effects cracked me up :)

XenosNS says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 5:47pm

Love the home made sound effects! Looks great too. Bit confusing to move around in the small window.

Moosefly says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 12:28am

Sound effects are very lulzy and the graphics and tech here are probably the most impressive I've seen so far. Too bad it lacks any true purpose, like Sim00n said.

Did fall trough the world once, and I was sure the game would crash but damn, it just put me back at the surface! Was very positively surprised.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

QubedStudios says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 12:35am

Very Nice! It's the kind of stuff I'd like to do with voxels if my computer was 10000x faster, but what you're doing with polygons is very impressive!

HybridMind says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 1:41pm

I mined 64 gems! :) I love the humor of spawning the food, water, and gems right out of the ground. Explored around for quite a while. I almost wish there wasn't the time limit because I was having fun playing with the terrain, but had to keep finding food and water to stay alive long enough. Cool tech!

xdegtyarev says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 2:44pm

Looks great! Congrats!

madmaw says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 9:14am

Amazing game for 48 hours!

elefantopia says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 2:51pm

madmaw, uh would you be mad at me if I revealed it took 8 hours to make?

elefantopia says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 3:23pm

I added Linux for my friends linuxers - yay!

elefantopia says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 3:36pm

do you folks want me to ease the nomnomnom so you can explore more?

elefantopia says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 4:24pm

QubedStudio, the terrain tech isn't mine, it's a pack called TerraVol by Amfu.

DavidErosa says ...
May 12, 2014 @ 5:12pm

Nice and easy to play. I found it relaxing but it crashed really hard every time I played it (3-4 times)

Seme says ...
May 17, 2014 @ 8:21pm

I really liked the graphics. Sound effects were awesome! :D Good job!

mark.goetz says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 3:12am

I like the strategy and the deformable terrain! Unfortunately, my poor laptop couldn't quite keep up with big areas, so it got close to unplayable. I also wasn't able to find food or gems, just water, which made my playthrough a bit frustrating. But I love that you recorded the sound effects yourself!

May 18, 2014 @ 4:13am

Awesome game! Digging the scenery is soooo sweet!

VictorDoval says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 1:08pm

Beautiful, and inspiring, thanks!

Teesquared says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 1:55pm

Best use of a Photoshop filter at the compo. Needs more urgency but it is fun to explore and launch balls.

Brodenino says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 2:16pm

It's nice to see some refreshing art, and the ability to create smooth tunnels. The whole survival system works quite well, where the components have their own tradeoffs the player need to take into consideration. It ran abit choppy though, but maybe that is because of my graphics configuration. Perhaps a stand-alone build for windows would work much smoother :).

TeamFlare says ...
May 18, 2014 @ 7:20pm

very nice Game!

wschorn says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 4:14am

beautiful. it was unclear what was going on in some digging situations but the look of the earth is something really insanely enjoyable, so I just keep digging for zen.

May 19, 2014 @ 9:33am

Nice terrain deformation mechanic. Feels good!

Kerdelos says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 3:25pm

I find the graphism gorgeous but the game is hard to play as the mouse keeps moving out of the window =/

minibutmany says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 9:19pm

Really well polished for the short time frame. I would pay for a complete version of something like this.

SK16Games says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 9:41pm

Very fun game :D would like to see some goal besides just surviving, but overall nice entry ;)

Kragnir says ...
May 20, 2014 @ 12:49am

Nice deformation effect. Very fluid game, would be fun with some more goal. Like the floating islands.

elefantopia says ...
May 20, 2014 @ 2:32am

@Kragnir - I like that idea of goal that have to do with architecturing the terrain... I'll see how I can make that.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]