Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Burn a Moleman

by Galdon - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I started this one pretty late, as I found out about the dare Saturday night. I made a pretty simple game as quickly as I could to see if I could make the deadline.

The source file can be opened with Stencyl 3.0, which is a free gamedev tool.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#669Humor2.28
#709Fun2.85
#899Audio2.00
#961Overall2.75
#991Theme2.63
#1134Innovation2.19
#1139Mood2.17
#1171Graphics2.08

Comments

Gins says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 9:01am

Fun take on whack-a-mole. I like that instead of clicking the moles, you use the num-pad :)

Apr 28, 2014 @ 5:19pm

I couldn't get it to run for some reason, it looked like maybe the little ad box on newgrounds was having issues.

valgriz says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:55pm

Using the num pad is a great idea! Nice, simple, fun game!

dddaaannn says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 3:21am

Num pad looks like a neat idea but I don't have a num pad on my keyboard. :) Alternate controls would be welcome.

tikilittle says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 5:47am

Good work. I liked the num pad idea for sure. I wasn't a huge fan of the sounds, so I turned those off.

zillix says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:13am

really charming game! great use of the numpad.

aelita1992 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:14am

Some more funny elements would get the game to the new level of fun :) Some more enemies would be nice to burn

Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:15am

Good work overall, Clever use of num pad :)

GertJohnny says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:02am

I played on a laptop, so it was extra thinking... but still, I like it.

pinion says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 6:16pm

I like typing on the numpad so this was pretty good.

Afal says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 7:10pm

achievements are hecka distracting. Nice game :)

eskivor says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 1:14am

I like it

ceosol says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 2:38am

Didn't work on my laptop number keys nor the touch screen keyboard.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]