Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Moby Dick 3000

by andyschatz - Jam Entry

Installation: Written in XNA, make sure you have XNA and .Net redists installed!

************************

Call me Richard...

Once I was a proud whale, lighting upon the sparkling crests, showing fluke and spray...

...Until the day that Ahab finally caught me.

You butchered me, my eye plucked from my skull with indifference, my blubber cut and boiled. I was left to die upon the docks in Boston, my heart barely finding a shallow rhythm."

But I did not die.

I still remember the moment I slipped into the shallows, drifting upon the tide. And so I rebuilt.

My fin, now titanium, my ribs, encrusted with steel. I have wings now, Ahab, you can no longer hide in the clouds above. And this cybernetic eye... it can see you. It will find you. And it will kill you.

Listen, Ahab: I will swallow your Pequod and show you the consequence of obsession.

My name is Richard, and AHAB WILL DIE.

FCS is:
Brian [F]ranco
Dickson [C]ho
Andy [S]chatz

INSTRUCTIONS:
Arrow keys move Moby
Z fires Moby's guns.
X switches Moby between air and water mode.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2196Coolness0%

Comments

zinfandel says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:58pm

Cool entry! Love the art. but from some reason, can't hit anything in the air mode?

Lucio says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 12:12pm

Lovely art! Congrats!

Neonlare says ...
May 1, 2014 @ 9:22pm

Cool art style, nothing out of the ordinary but still a bit of fun for a while!

eastes says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 9:39am

Moby has a big...

I had fun. 5 stars.

Cake&Code says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 9:52pm

Really lovely artwork! I had a ton of fun playing, although I didn't understand the payoff between being in air or being underwater. Since I felt like my projectiles were more effective underwater, I spent most of my time down there instead of in the air. Neat idea though, and I would be interested in seeing this expanded!

Crooksister says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 9:53am

Great idea, epic Moby! Great to see our competitor for a Moby Dick game is such a well known game designer.

Moosefly says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 11:59am

Installed the newest XNA and .Net redistributables, but it just crashes when trying to open it. Shame.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

Moosefly says ...
May 16, 2014 @ 12:08pm

Oh, and I'm running X64 W7 Ultimate.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]