Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Effin' Rats

by sputnikgames - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A five level physics puzzler. Shoot the rats off their perch to clean the underground maze of pipes.

Tools used: Phaser 2.0.2, Photoshop, Visual Studio Web, Typescript/Javascript/HTML5

Game was written in typescript and the translatedjavascript output is what's used online.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#550Humor2.44
#745Graphics2.86
#899Innovation2.60
#1023Theme2.55
#1036Overall2.67
#1058Fun2.39
#1124Mood2.23

Comments

ehtd says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:53am

Interesting

Tater_hater says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:53am

Pretty fun, very challenging XD

otato says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:53am

It would be an all right peggle clone, but the time it takes for the balls to settle is excruciating.

clearlyspam23 says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:56am

Graphics were nice, especially the intro screen. However, the game moved kind of slowly. It would be nice to be able to shoot more than one ball at a time, or atleast be able to remove the current ball when its obvious it's a miss.

IAmSpencer says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:57am

It would be better if you could shoot multiple balls at once, but otherwise it was pretty fun. Good job :)

noom says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:58am

I liked the hand drawn feel of the graphics. I got tired of waiting for the balls to despawn so I could shoot again though.

porousnapkin says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:58am

Cool! Peggle with rats! Nice job. Very difficult. I think you should double the available balls.

renatopp says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 4:01am

in the web version I see just a black screen

gikdew says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:11am

I dont really like rats, but your game is awesome!

orangepascal says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:42am

Would have loved being able to fire the next ball even if the first one was still bouncing around - that can take ages to finish :)

Xeke_Death says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:11am

I think the initial velocity of the ball is too low, or the gravity is too high, the ball always starts falling off too fast...
Needs a 'end turn' option to speed up gameplay, waiting for the ball to settle is frustrating...
Overall, good work... I like it...

GagaPete says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 10:49am

The game is way too slow sadly. Would be better to shoot new balls even when the previous one is still on the screen.

Oh, and the game doesn't run in FF 25. All you see is a black screen and the console reports "ReferenceError: FlurryAgent is not defined".

vilya says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:13am

Nice idea & well implemented. It'd be nice to be able to fire a second ball while the first is still moving. Also, it's really hard! Maybe increasing the ball count for the first level would help?

PapyGaragos says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:19pm

I like the idea of this game. I think it could be greatly enhanced with some basic audio

Apr 28, 2014 @ 2:55pm

could be a cool game, if I may present a wishlist:
- more ammo
- ability to shoot again while the first projectile is still there (it takes a little too long for it to settle)

I had a problem that sometimes when I was out of ammo the game would not reset. (A simple reload did fix that.)

sputnikgames says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:07am

Thanks for the feedback everyone. I totally agree with many of you. :)

Fixed a few bugs today especially the the end of levels/no ammo bug. Game ended at level four instead of level five bug fixed. There wasn't supposed to be a floor so that was a bug too. Can't remember why I left that on. :/

pancakecity says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 1:55am

Good idea!

petey123567 says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 4:30am

Full game loop takes a bit too long; I keep saying "c'mon, c'mon, I know I missed, c'mooon"

PoQA Games says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 5:25am

Very challenging, but fun. Took a while for the balls to disappear though, would be nice to have multiple shots at the same time.

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 30, 2014 @ 6:54am

Real innovative and fun and extremely easy to learn!
Great job!

Like this kind of puzzle games and there are so many ways to solve it. Wanna hit two rats with one ball!

snooze82 says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 7:54am

hard one - got till level 4. the ball isnt aligned with the cannon - that makes it more difficult to aim

alwaysinbeta says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 11:19pm

Really good game. Great graphics. Found it quite tough having to start from the first level again. Needs audio!

loxo says ...
May 19, 2014 @ 4:16pm

I like the concept of the game very much. But the game feels really hard. I finished the first level instantly, but after dying in the second level I never managed to beat the first level again.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]