Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Down The Rabbit Hole - The Search for Golden Carrots

by CeriseGhost - Jam Entry

"Down The Rabbit Hole - The Search for Golden Carrots" is the first game I have ever made. I'm sure that fact is obvious but regardless I had a lot of fun making it.

I know it is buggy, and I know the music is terrible, but I ran out of time! :D 72 hours just isn't long enough.

Controls:
Space - Jump
Left Arrow - Left
Right Arrow - Right

Objective:
The aim of the game is to find the golden carrot. Along the way, you will find boring old orange carrots that will help you see in the dark!

Final Notes:
I didn't manage to finish the level system in this game so at the moment when you find the first golden carrot, you will instantly start the second level. When you find the second golden carrot you will be taken back to the start screen where you can choose to leave the game or start again.

Have Fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#428Humor(Jam)2.42
#478Audio(Jam)2.79
#543Mood(Jam)2.76
#551Theme(Jam)2.76
#671Graphics(Jam)2.48
#680Overall(Jam)2.54
#693Fun(Jam)2.20
#742Innovation(Jam)1.96
#1547Coolness45%

Comments

João Kucera says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:57am

You need to rate other games to show yours.

kunzbe says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 1:57am

Sweet rabbit you got there ;)
Sometimes walls are really thin, I thought they were passable...

JoeProgram says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 2:05am

Congrats on your first game! I would have loved a powerup that zoomed the camera out - it's pretty hard to figure out what to do when you can only see such a small portion of the maze at a time.

Wakka says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:00pm

like you said, it's a bit buggy. The music is not thaaaat bad.

CeriseGhost says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 8:27am

@João Kucera - Thanks for the tip. I've been a bit busy at work so have been waiting for the weekend to play as many of these awesome games as I could!

@kunzbe - Yeah, by the time that I had built the maps and tested it, I was running out of time to fix the thin walls issue. If I didn't have prior engagements, this was one of the things I really did want to fix.

@JoeProgram - I really like that idea! In fact, I even had the code written to make that happen. The issue was that when I zoomed out, it made the tiles look really weird.. It put sort of a grid down on the canvas. I tried to fix the issue, but once again, ran out of time :D

@Wakka - The music was recorded in 1 take for each of the tracks :D Once again, I misjudged how long it would take to do some things and ran out of time.

I am appreciating the comments! I'll definitely try again next time!

Konrad Zegis says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 9:05am

Nice music. It don't tires you after first 10 minutes ;)

Love "carrots are good for eyes" pickup, that increases seeing range.

On 3rd level theres lot of invinsible walls. And maybe I'm little picky, but signs should have transparent backround.

Either way quite good. Liked that menu concept :)

May 4, 2014 @ 9:16am

The music is terrible!? NO! It touches my heart a lot. The feeling of a lonely rabbit in the darkness, searching for a carrot which he doesn't know where, without anyone to meet and talk. Yes, I know you didn't intended to do that, but still, I love your music. 5/5 for music. :)

MentaL13 says ...
May 4, 2014 @ 10:09am

You should have used a different color for the backgroud and the floor, because at first I thougth that the rabbit was floating in midair.

Boodog says ...
May 5, 2014 @ 4:21am

Nice job!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 7, 2014 @ 3:03am

im a sucker for rabbit games - this game got a little boring as it was hard to find the carrots - those thin walls were very deceiving - nice effort

tuxxilla says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 11:08am

I struggled with the level design of the second stage (thin walls) but finally made it to the end.

Great music!

granut100 says ...
May 10, 2014 @ 7:08pm

What do you mean the music was terrible?? I think that it had great music! Nice job and I love the lighting in the game!

Adrian says ...
May 11, 2014 @ 11:27am

Your rabbit is cool and the music also:)

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]