Ludum Dare 29 — April 25th-28th Weekend — Theme: Beneath the Surface

Event Links: [ MiniLD 50 | Warmup Weekend | Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Wallpaper ]

Back to Browse Entries

Agoraphobia

by yuzuquat - Jam Entry

A first person exploration / pretentious game. I made it alone between yesterday a today. Around 10-15hours of work.

WSAD to Move
Mouse to look

Maybe you will find something beneath the city.

You can ask me question, I'll try to answer as fast as I can (@yuzuquat)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#164Graphics(Jam)3.93
#288Mood(Jam)3.23
#583Audio(Jam)2.33
#662Theme(Jam)2.43
#687Overall(Jam)2.52
#734Innovation(Jam)2.00
#741Fun(Jam)1.96

Comments

erekiel says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 8:50pm

cool graphics and atmosphere !
I couldn't figure out what was going on and what should I do tough, but nice journey.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 27, 2014 @ 9:26pm

I couldn't figure out what was going on, but graphic is amazing. Maybe the mouse is too sensible. This is an interesting concept. THX ++

Algerus says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:30am

Excellent art style and presentation. Took me a few tries to figure out that I should be avoiding people, but I guess I should have gotten that from the name. It feels like there's something hidden that I haven't seen yet, but after a few trips around the city I have yet to find it. With some audio it could swing either way to a pleasant relaxing walk around a city or something more disturbing, good stuff!

Jacksendary says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 12:50am

Very Beautiful little game but i'm really unsure what is going on, my guess is that you wanna avoid crowded places? but the city/buildings with all its colors was really nice to walk around and look at!

Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:11am

I like how the game looks, but i had no idea what the object was or where to go

FileCorrupted says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:20am

Very neat, graphics are cool. Would be nice to have something to do though.

Peter says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 1:37am

Very cool, I couldn't figure out what was going on.

yuzuquat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 6:29am

Thanks for all the comments guys. Sorry if it's the purpose is not very clear. Something is hidden in the city, to reach but there is no real point in the game. It's more like a jam experiment. Anyway, I am really glad if some people liked it !

Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:34am

This is a good example what a couple of post FX can do to the visual quality of a game. Sadly I wasn't able to fond "the thing" yet, but I'll keep trying.

yuzuquat says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 8:34am

"The thing" is not really important though. It's just an ending going with the theme. The comments are really nice so I think I will rework on the game in the futur (improve it with assets and a more understable gameplay).

Norse Games says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:03am

Interesting. The graphics and sound were cool, and the mood was good, but there was no real goal. On top of that, the mouse was really sensitive, and I often found the camera doing things I didn't want it to be doing. I feel this was a stylistic choice, but still, could have been taken down a notch. Not totally un-enjoyable, but not great.

jsmars says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:26am

Really nice graphics and presentation, seems to have a lot of potential but not sure what the goal is.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 3:47pm

Nice game, liked the graphics.

CharlieLove says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:35pm

I wasn't quite sure what to do, but the atmosphere created was pretty nice.

AlbertoSM says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 7:36pm

What am I supposed to do? Some people are walking, some others are floating...Then you touch one of them and nothing happens, and sometimes you randomly "die" (turn the camera 90 degrees to the right).
I'm confused. Dazzled with the bloom effect, but confused.

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 28, 2014 @ 11:35pm

Wow! Absolutely stunning!!! Not much gameplay (but not everything needs gameplay, look at Proteus) With some more variety in locations, and a nice soundtrack, I'd wander around for hours. Seriously, really beautiful.

sirdorius says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 12:00pm

Really cool shaders! I really couldn't get the controls (if there are hidden ones) and the point of it, but ok :)

sugarbyte says ...
Apr 29, 2014 @ 10:42pm

Pretty, but seems lacking a purpose, and I don't feel a strong connection to agoraphobia or beneath the surface.

xdegtyarev says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 6:14pm

it works very slow on my mid 2012 mbp.

whilefun says ...
May 3, 2014 @ 5:01pm

Neat graphics, and atmpsphere. I felt a bit lost, and randomly died (I think...I fell over and the game restarted). This is visually interesting, and I hope it becomes more of a full game some day :)

Penguincat says ...
May 6, 2014 @ 10:10pm

Nice graphics style and mood - it got particularly creepy when people started crowding around me - but a bit too abstract for my taste. I would've liked a clearer goal to head towards. I never found a way under the city, and it takes a long time to explore the whole place given the player's walking speed.

You must sign in to comment.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]